Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This is the best gravy I have ever had - thick and flavorful. It was definitely worth driving all over town looking for nutritional yeast (I finally found some at Whole Foods). I use it on a dumpling recipe, but I imagine it would be great for holidays as well. Sometimes, I use vegetarian no-chicken broth, instead of vegetable broth, but either way is delicious. The gravy can come out a little too thick, but just add more broth until you get the consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Dreyfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
It's great :) You might like it with a little less flour, to make it thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Im Gluten free, so I used 1.5 tbl of potato starch in place of the flour and I changed it up a little bit and roasted my onion and garlic. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
So yummy! It was more chunky than smooth, but I didn't have yeast or sage and I used powdered broth, so I'm not sure if that had anything to do with it. Still, it was pretty good, but it could have used a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Amazing flavor! I had some dried shiitake mushrooms so ground them up and added them for extra umami. I used about 3 cups of water/broth and consistency was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was good, not fabulous. I added diced mushrooms. Apparently I used the wrong nutritional yeast per my vegetarian mother. I used Brewers nutritional yeast, I guess there is a different kind. Did not know that! It tasted good on Thanksgiving day, but not so good as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I was always intimidated about me preparing homemade gravy; so this was my 1st time, and to top it off, it is a vegetarian recipe. IT WAS DELICIOUS!!!!!! I just added more water because it was thick enough you could eat it with a spoon (which I did)!!! Smiling....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
HUGE HIT! This bold tasting gravy really is magnificent. Even my meat-eating bf complimented on how good it tasted. It did turn out a bit too thick though, but that was nothing that some more broth couldn't take care of. I will be making this every year for Thanksgiving from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
It is absolutely delicious. It's not hard to make either. I would add less oil next time because the onions took longer to sauté sitting in so much oil. Plus the oil began separating a little bit after the gravy was made. Still yummy nonetheless!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Best vegetarian gravy I've ever made! I thin even the carnivores will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States