Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This recipe was very easy to execute and worked out really well. A lot of the guests at Thanksgiving liked it better than the meat gravy. I was happy to find an alternative that I could enjoy with the rest of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Wow, this was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except I used 2 cups of water and a bouillon cube instead of ready-made vegetable broth. It came out very thick so I stirred in some extra water. I would go easy on the salt also, since the soy sauce will make it salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
My husband and I are both vegetarians and love this recipe. I serve it with tofurkey or over breaded tofu. This recipe keeps well in the freezer, as long as you divide it into several small containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This recipe is incredible! I love love love this gravy! I put it on mashed potatoes and it was super. I used EVOO and Safflower oil instead of vegetable oil...(they are my preferred oils and are always in the house)....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
my first time making vegan gravy and after following the recommendations of others, it came out great. i used 3 cups of broth (all i had was spicy tomato broth from the mexican store, but it added some kick!), a little less than half a cup of flour, added mushrooms, and instead of sage, used some dill. delicious for my biscuits hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I made this as is once and found it too salty and thick and, since then, made the suggested changes (halved the oil, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, cut out the salt, doubled the liquid) and it turned out great. I've also added sliced mushrooms and have used vegan 'no-chicken' broth instead of regular vegetable broth for a more traditional flavor. It's a great gravy recipe for those of us who have gone without for ages! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This was surprisingly good! Even my husband, who cringed when I said "vegetarian gravy", liked it. After you make the roux (that is, adding the flour in and letting it cook a little), grab a whisk and slowly add the broth, whisking away so as not to get a big clump. I actually had to add a bit of water because it was very thick. I did not have sage but I had a "poultry seasoning" that had sage in it so I used that. Defenitely will be using this recipe again. I froze the leftovers, i'm curious to see if it will defrost well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Panama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This turned out on the thick side for me too but the taste was good. I didn't use any yeast and I used tamari soy sauce. Not the absolute best I've ever has but it sure beats store bought and with some tweaking it could be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Peacock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I made a modified version of this today: 1/4 cup olive oil (plus a bit of butter), 1 cup of broth, same amount of onion, 2 cloves of garlic. I also used 1/4 cup of a cornstarch/flour mix (because I ran out of cornstarch, not because I prefer the mix). I have to say that both my husband and I are VERY impressed with this gravy. I wish I'd made the whole recipe instead of halving it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
As written, I think this recipe is too salty and too thick. 4 Tablespoons of soy sauce on top of 1/2 teaspoon of salt seems like way too much salt to me. I used 3 tablespoons of soy sauce and didn't add any salt at the end, and I used 3 cups of broth. When I made it this way, the recipe turned out really well. I will definitely make it like this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States