Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Fantastic. After being a vegetarian for over ten years, I have finally found a gravy that tastes good (not just salty). Try this recipe. My meat-eating husband even said that he wouldn't be able to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is a great vegetarian gravy! My brother-in-law & Mom are vegetarians & so for our Thanksgiving dinner I made this for them to enjoy & they loved it. A really great recipe for anyone who might be skeptical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Very, very nice and easy. I wanted to have a veggie gravy for the sole vegetarian at Thanksgiving. Alterations: definitely change the oil to olive oil and reduce to NO more than 1/4 cup - match the flour amount to the oil amount you use; added 1 cup of finely chopped musrooms to the onions & garlic; reduced the soy to 2 tablespoons (that was enough to get the salty taste without it becoming too soy-y); definintely increase the broth to your desired thickness - I doubled it; eliminated the added salt; substituted poultry seasoning for the sage. I didn't find Nutritional Yeast at my local health food store - they didn't know what it was and suggested brewer's yeast, but research says these are not the same. I was able to locate the right stuff at Fred Meyer (Northwest area store) in the bulk food section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
EXCELLENT recipe! After purchasing vegetarian gravy from Whole Foods every Thanksgiving, I decided to give it a try and make it myself. This recipe is both delicious and easy. I omitted the yeast and used two tablespoons of soy sauce. I also sauteed mushrooms. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Great flavour, but a bit thicker than I was aiming for. I would definitely make this recipe again though, and perhaps add more veggie broth. I took it to Thanksgiving dinner and it was gone wayyy before the turkey gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I used 1/4 cup unsalted butter instead of vegetable oil and also less soy sauce. I never would have imagined that the nutritional yeast (I used Marmite brand) and soy sauce combination would make such good gravy. All vegetarians at my Thanksgiving dinner were excited to have gravy, so thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Really weird consistency-really thick and pasty. Also, too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMANDAG138

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Add a little rosemary. This was a huge hit at my Thanksgiving pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This gravy was beyond excellent! The closest to real gravy I have ever tasted. I did have to add some water to it after it thickened a lot. Nutritional yeast is key. Will make this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is a really tasty recipe- much better than any vegetarian gravy you can buy in the store and easy to make. I have made it a few times and I made some changes. I didn't like the big chunks of onion in the gravy, so now I grate the onion instead of chopping it. I also used vegan margarine instead of oil, more vegetable broth, added some herbs de provence, and omitted the extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States