Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Yummy, very oniony, not as close to "normal" gravy as I expected, but it was still nice. My guests really enjoyed it - much more than I did. I will continue searching for a better veg gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Really good!! Used a 1/8cup less of flour and it was perfect(for me) excellent tasting for no meat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Looking for Perfection

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
What can I say except,"YUCK"!! Maybe I just didn't prepare it right. I cut down on the oil as suggested, and had to add more broth. What I came out with was a disaster. I looked like chuncky peanut butter and tasted awful.Plus the consistency was never quite right. I'm glad so many people enjoyed this recipe. Maybe I can try it again and hope to come out with a better result, as I am really desperate for a good vegan gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matteson, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I loved this gravy. It's one of the few things I've missed since becoming a vegetarian. I too had the issue with it becoming very thick but I just added some water and it seemed to turn out fine. My only issue with this recipe is what seems to me to be an ungodly amount of vegetable oil. I might try cutting that back next time to see what happens. Such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redbetsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
this was a hit at our tofurkey thanksgiving, and with a couple changes will be a yearly staple. first, definitely lose the salt, it is by far salty enough from the soy sauce. second, saute some chopped mushrooms with the onion, and you've got a gravy to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lafayette, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This is my favourite vegan gravy recipe, hands-down. The only note I'll make is the same others have made -- you must double the amount of stock listed! Oh, and the quality of your stock makes a big difference -- homemade stock and tetra packs of stock really do make a better gravy than bouillon cubes. The recipe makes a fair amount once you double the stock, but the gravy disappears all too fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corbet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This recipe was a huge hit at the holiday dinner potluck I brought it to! Vegan, vegetarian, and meat-eaters alike were looking for things to dip into it and pour it onto by the end just to scoop more of it up. I added mushrooms (which I food processed), Italian herbs instead of sage, and Bragg's liquid aminos, a delicious healthy alternative to soy sauce, and no yeast. It was wonderful. I've promised my partner to make it again for our holiday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziska

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Tastes AMAZING!! Took it into my office with biscuits and it was gone! So good. I made it without only about a tablespoon of olive oil instead of the veggie oil and it was still delicious! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Good recipe, but not for me, I am a carnivore and I made it for my wife and her family who are vegetarians. I thought it was pretty good at first, aside from it being too thick, I forgot to reduce the oil and flour which I too would suggest. But the next day my brother-in-law decided that a can of Cream of Mushroom soup was a better choice and after trying that as well I would have to agree, that is great for me though! Next time its CofM soup for the Vegsters and I'll be making some real gravy for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthieu Duquette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was just okay. I would try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States