Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
So yummy! It was more chunky than smooth, but I didn't have yeast or sage and I used powdered broth, so I'm not sure if that had anything to do with it. Still, it was pretty good, but it could have used a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Amazing flavor! I had some dried shiitake mushrooms so ground them up and added them for extra umami. I used about 3 cups of water/broth and consistency was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was good, not fabulous. I added diced mushrooms. Apparently I used the wrong nutritional yeast per my vegetarian mother. I used Brewers nutritional yeast, I guess there is a different kind. Did not know that! It tasted good on Thanksgiving day, but not so good as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I was always intimidated about me preparing homemade gravy; so this was my 1st time, and to top it off, it is a vegetarian recipe. IT WAS DELICIOUS!!!!!! I just added more water because it was thick enough you could eat it with a spoon (which I did)!!! Smiling....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
HUGE HIT! This bold tasting gravy really is magnificent. Even my meat-eating bf complimented on how good it tasted. It did turn out a bit too thick though, but that was nothing that some more broth couldn't take care of. I will be making this every year for Thanksgiving from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
It is absolutely delicious. It's not hard to make either. I would add less oil next time because the onions took longer to sauté sitting in so much oil. Plus the oil began separating a little bit after the gravy was made. Still yummy nonetheless!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Best vegetarian gravy I've ever made! I thin even the carnivores will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This is yummy! I added mushrooms, halved the flour and oil, omitted the salt and used braggs liquid aminos-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This is a great recipe of ingredients, but the proportions are way off. For starters, the combination of nutritional yeast and soy sauce (I actually prefer Tamari) is the vegetarian equivalent of meaty. So if you aren't going to use these two ingredients - don't bother with this recipe. Nutritional yeast is an expensive ingredient, so I can see why people will want to omit. Tip - check out Whole Food's bulk bin section. Here are some adjustments I made: 1) don't add any salt until the end. See if it even needs it at the end. 2) use fresh sage 3) cut the oil in half and add more if necessary 4) add flour slowly until you get the consistency you want, may not require full amount. 5) I added ALOT of nutritional yeast until I got a flavor I liked. Maybe 1/2 - 1 cup. 6) Use some butter instead of oil Again IMO, this recipe has great ingredients but terrible proportions. That being said, no one touched the meat gravy when I made this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was SO GOOD. Great flavor and consistency, and went over very well with vegetarians and carnivores alike! Next time, I'll add mushrooms. Thank you so much for this - best vegetarian gravy I've ever had! Better than most turkey gravies I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Statler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States