Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I love this gravy recipe! The only changes I made were to use 1/4 cup cornstarch instead of the flour to make it celiac friendly, and didn't add as much salt as asked for. Next time, I'll cook the onions a little bit before adding the garlic, since I ended up burning the garlic this time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This was thick, sticky, and tasted like soy sauce and nutritional yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Tasty for a vegetarian gravy. Really loved the sage, I think it makes the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was fantastic. Our first gravy at Thanksgiving turned out terrible so we jumped onto Allrecipes and found this recipe at the last minute and whipped it up before the guests arrived. It was really a hit! we only use this recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
We've been looking for a good vegetarian gravy for a while now, and this fit the bill!!! My husband loved it! I did it with less soy sauce and more broth as some of the reviews suggested and it seemed just right. Might try it with less salt. The flavor was perfect, everything blended together so well. Not even hard to make. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Soy gives this the color and taste needed. I roasted up some veggies in the Roux mixture, then blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This is a fabulous recipe! I only use one clove of garlic, a personal preference, and no nutritional yeast, don't have any! Next time I will pick some up and try it out. I also use poultry spice instead of sage. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbtvs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
4 tbsp soy sauce is WAY too much, in my opinion. I used only 3 tbsp and it was still overpowering. overall, it's a great starting place for vegetarian gravy. next time I'll try 1-2 tbsp of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassidy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Great flavor! Added about a cup more broth as other reviews suggested, and it was still plenty thick. Next time I think I'll try adding even more broth to cut the oil content and reduce the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Found this recipe forever ago and have been making it for years. I use butter instead of oil and as I make this to go with mashed potatoes I use the potato water in place of broth. I used to make without yeast, but bought it once, and now buy it regularly to add to my veg recipes. Amazing taste. Maybe it's b/c I hadn't eaten gravy in years before I found this, but I swear it's better than any gravy I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRIGREM

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States