Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I was attempting to make gravy tonight.... well needless to say it was bland bec all I did was put butter, flour and broth together.. I looked at this recipe and I added in some garlic powder, onion powder and the soy sauce and it was awesome!!! This saved me!!!! Yum!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Fabulous alternative to the carnivore's thanksgiving accoutrement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Magna, Utah, USA
Living In: Roosevelt, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Very flavorful and rich. I made it for thanksgiving and it was completely consumed despite the fact that I was the only vegetarian and there was meat based gravy available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I used 1/4 cup of olive oil instead of half cup of vegetable oil. Also, I ran out of soy sauce, so I used two tablespoons of dark miso paste instead. I thought it looked unsightly with all of the onion chunks, so I pureed it before thickening - it turned out lovely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I love this gravy recipe! The only changes I made were to use 1/4 cup cornstarch instead of the flour to make it celiac friendly, and didn't add as much salt as asked for. Next time, I'll cook the onions a little bit before adding the garlic, since I ended up burning the garlic this time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This was thick, sticky, and tasted like soy sauce and nutritional yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Tasty for a vegetarian gravy. Really loved the sage, I think it makes the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was fantastic. Our first gravy at Thanksgiving turned out terrible so we jumped onto Allrecipes and found this recipe at the last minute and whipped it up before the guests arrived. It was really a hit! we only use this recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
We've been looking for a good vegetarian gravy for a while now, and this fit the bill!!! My husband loved it! I did it with less soy sauce and more broth as some of the reviews suggested and it seemed just right. Might try it with less salt. The flavor was perfect, everything blended together so well. Not even hard to make. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Soy gives this the color and taste needed. I roasted up some veggies in the Roux mixture, then blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States