Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
We've been looking for a good vegetarian gravy for a while now, and this fit the bill!!! My husband loved it! I did it with less soy sauce and more broth as some of the reviews suggested and it seemed just right. Might try it with less salt. The flavor was perfect, everything blended together so well. Not even hard to make. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Soy gives this the color and taste needed. I roasted up some veggies in the Roux mixture, then blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This is a fabulous recipe! I only use one clove of garlic, a personal preference, and no nutritional yeast, don't have any! Next time I will pick some up and try it out. I also use poultry spice instead of sage. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbtvs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
4 tbsp soy sauce is WAY too much, in my opinion. I used only 3 tbsp and it was still overpowering. overall, it's a great starting place for vegetarian gravy. next time I'll try 1-2 tbsp of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassidy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Great flavor! Added about a cup more broth as other reviews suggested, and it was still plenty thick. Next time I think I'll try adding even more broth to cut the oil content and reduce the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Found this recipe forever ago and have been making it for years. I use butter instead of oil and as I make this to go with mashed potatoes I use the potato water in place of broth. I used to make without yeast, but bought it once, and now buy it regularly to add to my veg recipes. Amazing taste. Maybe it's b/c I hadn't eaten gravy in years before I found this, but I swear it's better than any gravy I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRIGREM

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Fantastic. After being a vegetarian for over ten years, I have finally found a gravy that tastes good (not just salty). Try this recipe. My meat-eating husband even said that he wouldn't be able to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is a great vegetarian gravy! My brother-in-law & Mom are vegetarians & so for our Thanksgiving dinner I made this for them to enjoy & they loved it. A really great recipe for anyone who might be skeptical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Very, very nice and easy. I wanted to have a veggie gravy for the sole vegetarian at Thanksgiving. Alterations: definitely change the oil to olive oil and reduce to NO more than 1/4 cup - match the flour amount to the oil amount you use; added 1 cup of finely chopped musrooms to the onions & garlic; reduced the soy to 2 tablespoons (that was enough to get the salty taste without it becoming too soy-y); definintely increase the broth to your desired thickness - I doubled it; eliminated the added salt; substituted poultry seasoning for the sage. I didn't find Nutritional Yeast at my local health food store - they didn't know what it was and suggested brewer's yeast, but research says these are not the same. I was able to locate the right stuff at Fred Meyer (Northwest area store) in the bulk food section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
EXCELLENT recipe! After purchasing vegetarian gravy from Whole Foods every Thanksgiving, I decided to give it a try and make it myself. This recipe is both delicious and easy. I omitted the yeast and used two tablespoons of soy sauce. I also sauteed mushrooms. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States