Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Great flavor! Added about a cup more broth as other reviews suggested, and it was still plenty thick. Next time I think I'll try adding even more broth to cut the oil content and reduce the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Found this recipe forever ago and have been making it for years. I use butter instead of oil and as I make this to go with mashed potatoes I use the potato water in place of broth. I used to make without yeast, but bought it once, and now buy it regularly to add to my veg recipes. Amazing taste. Maybe it's b/c I hadn't eaten gravy in years before I found this, but I swear it's better than any gravy I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRIGREM

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Fantastic. After being a vegetarian for over ten years, I have finally found a gravy that tastes good (not just salty). Try this recipe. My meat-eating husband even said that he wouldn't be able to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is a great vegetarian gravy! My brother-in-law & Mom are vegetarians & so for our Thanksgiving dinner I made this for them to enjoy & they loved it. A really great recipe for anyone who might be skeptical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Very, very nice and easy. I wanted to have a veggie gravy for the sole vegetarian at Thanksgiving. Alterations: definitely change the oil to olive oil and reduce to NO more than 1/4 cup - match the flour amount to the oil amount you use; added 1 cup of finely chopped musrooms to the onions & garlic; reduced the soy to 2 tablespoons (that was enough to get the salty taste without it becoming too soy-y); definintely increase the broth to your desired thickness - I doubled it; eliminated the added salt; substituted poultry seasoning for the sage. I didn't find Nutritional Yeast at my local health food store - they didn't know what it was and suggested brewer's yeast, but research says these are not the same. I was able to locate the right stuff at Fred Meyer (Northwest area store) in the bulk food section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
EXCELLENT recipe! After purchasing vegetarian gravy from Whole Foods every Thanksgiving, I decided to give it a try and make it myself. This recipe is both delicious and easy. I omitted the yeast and used two tablespoons of soy sauce. I also sauteed mushrooms. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Great flavour, but a bit thicker than I was aiming for. I would definitely make this recipe again though, and perhaps add more veggie broth. I took it to Thanksgiving dinner and it was gone wayyy before the turkey gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I used 1/4 cup unsalted butter instead of vegetable oil and also less soy sauce. I never would have imagined that the nutritional yeast (I used Marmite brand) and soy sauce combination would make such good gravy. All vegetarians at my Thanksgiving dinner were excited to have gravy, so thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Really weird consistency-really thick and pasty. Also, too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMANDAG138

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Add a little rosemary. This was a huge hit at my Thanksgiving pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States