Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Great tasting, easy to make vegetarian gravy! I increased the onion amount and threw in some garlic too. Nutritional yeast is delicious, but non-existent in my current corner of the world, so I just left that out, no problem. Oh, and just to experiment, I used 2 T soy sauce, and 2 T Worcestershire sauce - it was great with our mashed potatoes and lentil loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pumpkin girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This recipe is turly amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is my third year using this recipe. I've followed it to the letter and I have used it as a guideline for doing my own thing. Either way, the results are amazing. It's definitely for the onion and garlic lover (that's me!) I can't foresee using another recipe again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Delicious! I didn't have the nutritional yeast but the soy sauce and veggie broth make a yummy flavor very similar to meat gravy. Even the meat eaters loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten_face

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made this to smother cheese biscuits with on a really cold day and it really hit the spot! I did not find the soy taste to be overpowering, but I used Bragg's Liquid Aminos in place of regular soy sauce, anyway. I only give this four stars because the thickness is too much- I will certainly be making this again but with less flour/more broth. Great vegetarian gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I've made this gravy twice over the holidays. It's a great alternative to meatie gravy that goes well with a slice of Tofurkey or turkey! The only tweak I made was I added 2 1/2 to 3 cups of veggie broth. (Personal preference for fluid gravy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peanut

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
After reading other reviews, I left out the salt. I should have cut the soy sauce at least in half as it was still way too salty for me and had too much of a soy sauce flavor. Would be good with some mushrooms added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I reduced the oil and flour to 1/4 cup. This tasted better than non-vegetarian gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Thank you for this recipe. My daughter and her boyfriend became vegetarians in early 2009. This recipe, plus a meatless-soyless turkey thing helped make it through the holidays. She is allergic to soy, but can have soy sauce because it's fermented (go figure). Thank you. It's a keeper and on the stove again this Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I liked it just as well as the perfectly executed turkey gravy we had at Thanksgiving. I made it so the vegetarian at the table would have something to smother all over his mashed potatoes and stuffing. I did add some mushrooms to the saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States