Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This gravy was amazing. Even my non-vegetarian husband raved about it. I didn't have any sage on hand so I used rosemary instead... tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Absolutely delicious, could never tell it was even vegetarian! The only thing I would do is cut down on the oil, much to oily. Maybe cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Best vegetarian gravy I've ever made. SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I LOVED this recipe! The only changes I made were to leave out the yeast because I couldn't find the right kind at the store, and I used butter instead of oil. Yes, as other reviews have said, it turned out really thick, but I like thick gravy, and the taste was DELICIOUS. My grocery store does not carry any plain vegetarian brown gravy, so I'm very happy to have found this recipe to use for my vegetarian husband. Thank you, Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I made this forever ago - for Thanksgiving. There seemed to be a slightly strange flavor, but it was my first vegetarian gravy - so that's to be expected. All in all it was pretty good and it was great over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Woody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This is the first veg gravy I've had that actually tastes good! Even my meat-eater husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I didn't have the yeast or light soy sauce so i added 3 tbsp regular soy sauce and ommitted the yeast. I also added 1/2 tsp of onion powder and a little extra sage. I made an open face chik patty (morningstar brand SO good) sandwich by toasting whole wheat bread, smothering that with the gravy then adding the chik patty then topping with mashed potatoes and more gravy. Delicious! Tastes great leftover too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Great tasting, easy to make vegetarian gravy! I increased the onion amount and threw in some garlic too. Nutritional yeast is delicious, but non-existent in my current corner of the world, so I just left that out, no problem. Oh, and just to experiment, I used 2 T soy sauce, and 2 T Worcestershire sauce - it was great with our mashed potatoes and lentil loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pumpkin girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This recipe is turly amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is my third year using this recipe. I've followed it to the letter and I have used it as a guideline for doing my own thing. Either way, the results are amazing. It's definitely for the onion and garlic lover (that's me!) I can't foresee using another recipe again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States