Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving, and most of our group liked it better than the turkey gravy. I did not have nutritional yeast, and may have accidentally added more sage than called for. The only thing I will change next time is to add less sage, and hopefully will have nutritional yeast on hand to try it the way the recipe was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Amazing gravy! Everyone at my Thanksgiving table loved it. Thank you, Becky!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I whipped this up after seeing that all "mushroom" gravys in the store contained beef fat - I was loathe to make a gravy, I really don't enjoy the process but this turned out lovely. I halved the recipe (I'm the only veg at my table) but needed about 1.5 cups of broth instead of just one and it's still pretty thick. I also took someone else's suggestion of skipping the oil and using butter instead (I used Earth Balance) - there is no separation of the finished product and it tastes divine! I also skipped the yeast because apparently my supply had been hosting a family in my cupboard and was no longer able to be eaten - oh well... even little beetle-things need to eat on Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This gravy is RIDICULOUSLY good. I've been a vegetarian for years, and always felt a little jealous on Thanksgiving as everyone slopped gravy on their mashed potatoes. No more deprivation-- this gravy is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
my favorite recipe for veg gravy that I've ever found... my non-vegetarian family loves this recipe more than the meat version my grandma makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Great! I added extra onions and might do celery next time to give it a little tang
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
SUPER YUMMY!! I served it at dry run Thanksgiving dinner with friends and everyone LOVED it, meat eater or not. I added mushrooms when I sauted the onion and garlic. I did have to cook much longer as noted by another reader. I could not find the nutritional yeast so I made it without. I made 4x the recipe and substituted half of the oil for butter. Savory, flavorful and a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I made this a few years agoon Thanksgiving to go with my homemade Tofurkey. Even the guests who were eating real turkey preferred this vegetarian gravy to the broth-based gravy. It is SO good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I take this to an annual Thanksgiving party and people love it. I followed the receipe exactly and have always had great luck for the past 6 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Turned out tastier than the non-vegetarian gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksolveig

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States