Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I learned the hard way that in this recipe, light soy sauce means reduced-sodium. (In the Asian food world, there is "light" soy sauce versus "thick" soy sauce.) The gravy came out pretty salty...but still underneath the salt there was great flavor. I can see how this is a 5 star recipe and I'll make it again...the right way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I put it on a vegetarian version of Shepherds pie and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I only use 1/3 cup oil and 1/3 cup flour but it still turns out great. I use this as my go-to gravy for all my holiday feasts! Even the non-vegetarians love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This is the best gravy I have ever had - thick and flavorful. It was definitely worth driving all over town looking for nutritional yeast (I finally found some at Whole Foods). I use it on a dumpling recipe, but I imagine it would be great for holidays as well. Sometimes, I use vegetarian no-chicken broth, instead of vegetable broth, but either way is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
It's great :) You might like it with a little less flour, to make it thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Im Gluten free, so I used 1.5 tbl of potato starch in place of the flour and I changed it up a little bit and roasted my onion and garlic. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
So yummy! It was more chunky than smooth, but I didn't have yeast or sage and I used powdered broth, so I'm not sure if that had anything to do with it. Still, it was pretty good, but it could have used a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Amazing flavor! I had some dried shiitake mushrooms so ground them up and added them for extra umami. I used about 3 cups of water/broth and consistency was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was good, not fabulous. I added diced mushrooms. Apparently I used the wrong nutritional yeast per my vegetarian mother. I used Brewers nutritional yeast, I guess there is a different kind. Did not know that! It tasted good on Thanksgiving day, but not so good as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I was always intimidated about me preparing homemade gravy; so this was my 1st time, and to top it off, it is a vegetarian recipe. IT WAS DELICIOUS!!!!!! I just added more water because it was thick enough you could eat it with a spoon (which I did)!!! Smiling....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States