Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Just recently became vegetarian, and we were mourning our first Thanksgiving without gravy. This was one of the best gravies I've EVER had, not just as a vegetarian substitute. I plan on making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellyjoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was a hit at Christmas for vegeterians and meat eaters alike. I made some changes: used half the amount of soy sauce, added a tablespoon of tomato sauce and replaced the nutritional yeast with parmesan cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is a great recipe....I have made it several times and everybody raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
A success at my table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eclipse777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Quick and Easy! I omited the yeast and still turned out great! Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
It was fantastic! I used chickpea flour instead of white flour and used Bragg's amino acid instead of soy sauce. After cooking the gravy I blended it for a smooth silky texture. The meat eaters in the family had no idea it was vegetarian and kept pouring more and more on their turkey and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Too garlicky the first time; we also added extra broth and it was still quite thick. Next time, we'll do less garlic, even more broth. Great starter though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Alright, so I skipped the yeast and used turkey drippings instead of vegetable broth (I know, not vegan, but I'm not vegan- just looking for a great gravy)and this has to be my favorite gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by araquiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CDCooks
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Very good veg gravy. I did add another cup of broth to thin it a bit and I like my gravy smooth, so I used a stick blender to process the entire batch and it turned out great. Will definitely be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe is awesome!!! I didn't use 1/2 cup of oil because I am the only one eating this, so I decreased the oil, flour and the veggie broth and added chopped fresh sage, only because I love it, and I used everything else and it was fantastic. Put in a bag of meatless meatballs and this is what I will be taking to Christmas dinner for me - the others can eat their turkey. Love, love, love it. Thank you for a very fantabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States