Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This is yummy! I added mushrooms, halved the flour and oil, omitted the salt and used braggs liquid aminos-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This is a great recipe of ingredients, but the proportions are way off. For starters, the combination of nutritional yeast and soy sauce (I actually prefer Tamari) is the vegetarian equivalent of meaty. So if you aren't going to use these two ingredients - don't bother with this recipe. Nutritional yeast is an expensive ingredient, so I can see why people will want to omit. Tip - check out Whole Food's bulk bin section. Here are some adjustments I made: 1) don't add any salt until the end. See if it even needs it at the end. 2) use fresh sage 3) cut the oil in half and add more if necessary 4) add flour slowly until you get the consistency you want, may not require full amount. 5) I added ALOT of nutritional yeast until I got a flavor I liked. Maybe 1/2 - 1 cup. 6) Use some butter instead of oil Again IMO, this recipe has great ingredients but terrible proportions. That being said, no one touched the meat gravy when I made this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was SO GOOD. Great flavor and consistency, and went over very well with vegetarians and carnivores alike! Next time, I'll add mushrooms. Thank you so much for this - best vegetarian gravy I've ever had! Better than most turkey gravies I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Statler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I have been looking for a good vegan gravy recipe, and I'm thrilled to have found this! I made a few changes based on my preferences and what I had on hand. First, I did not want chunky gravy, so I substituted 1 tsp onion powder and 1/4 tsp garlic powder for the fresh onion and garlic. Instead of using prepared vegetable broth, I diluted 2 rounded tsp of "Better Than Bouillon" vegetable base in 2 cups water. I discovered I was out of sage, so substituted savory. I also used half the amount of salt called for. The gravy quickly became too thick during cooking (I started with less oil than called for because I was not going to saute onion and garlic), so I added an additional cup of the water and veg base mixture and that worked out just fine. The gravy was rather salty when I tasted it by itself, but it was fine once we put it on our food. Next time I will further reduce the salt. With the ease of preparation, use of items I typically have on hand, and the authentic gravy taste, this vegan gravy was a very pleasant surprise! I am a BIG fan of gravy, so I will definitely be making this many times in the future. Thank you for posting a real winner of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This stuff is amazing! My boyfriend (who is a voracious meat eater and gravy nut) thinks it tastes just like a good, rich turkey gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Excellent! I did cut the oil in half and added some water but the outcome was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
My meat eaters loved this! I didn't have veggie stock so I made some quickly and it didn't take much extra work at all, just a bit of extra time. We added mushrooms for extra flavor. I haven't had gravy since I was a kid so thanks for the rush of memories this brought back. Also, it was the first time my son got to have gravy on his mashed potatoes! Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
was looking for vegan Gravy for my Tofu meatball and this one is just perfect sauce for it. Thank you ~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I didn't have the nutritional yeast or the soy and it came out great! I threw in about 1/4 tsp corriander and about 1/2 tsp of Kitchen Bouquet. My carnivorous hubby even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was delicious! I did find it a bit salty and I'm going to replace some of the soya sauce with red wine next time. I also went with 1/4 cup of oil and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States