Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I made this for my vegetarian brother at Thamksgiving and it was a hit with everyone. This gravy was more popular than our traditional gravy with all the family. This will be on our table every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I've used this recipe for several years now - it's so yummy! Sad that someone would give it a poor review when they didn't use all the ingredients :( Nut. yeast does taste delicious! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Great recipe. Thought soy sauce would be too much, but it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was really good. Probably the best gravy I've ever made. However, I left out the salt--with the soy sauce it was salty enough! Also, didn't use nutritional yeast (didn't have any), and used beef broth instead of vegetable broth (not a vegetarian). Will make again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is so yum! I made this to go with Christmas dinner and it turned out amazing! The non-vegetarians at the table didn't think it was a veg gravy and I even got asked for the recipe! I did sub butter instead of the oil and did not add the yeast. This will certainly curb my gravy cravings! Could almost pass as a beef gravy! I think next time I might try to add some sautéed mushrooms to it - I think it would be a nice addition. Or maybe use it as a base for a vegetarian stew. This will be a staple around here now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Wonderful! This has become my staple gravy. I just leave out the nutritional yeast because my husband does not care for the cheesy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
YES, another satisfied Thanksgiving customer! I omitted the soy-sauce, but only because of one guest's soy issues, and it was still perfect. I used broth from a carton (not overly "distinctive" .. or salty like broth in cubes or jars can be) and WONDRA sauce & gravy flour, which is my lump-free secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent flavor! My friends didn't believe that this was vegetarian. I gave it 4 stars because I had some trouble with the flour clumping. Next time I think I'll add the flour after the broth, so that it can dissolve more effectively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Four stars as is, but five after some tweaks. Other reviewers said to use half the oil, and that's a good idea. I used vegetable bouillon instead of stock, and it's quite salty so I omitted the extra salt. I also chopped up what turned out to be a cup and a half (or so) of brown mushrooms, and used low sodium tamari instead of soy sauce. Tasty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Oh, my. So good. I used fresh sage (a couple of tablespoons) and added fresh parsley (3-4 tablespoons) and chopped my onions really fine. I used Better Than Bullion to make the veg broth. I also made this gluten-free by using sweet rice flour. I guess that has more thickening power than flour because I ended up having to add another cup or cup and a half of water to thin it back to the right consistency. I did not have the problem some people had with the oil separating, though. My non-veg, gluten-eating sister preferred this to her turkey gravy at Thanksgiving. I will definitely be making this again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States