Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Best veggie gravy I have tried so far... And I usually try a new one every thanksgiving! I think my yearly search is over. Didn't need any additional salt in my opinion. I used Better Than Bullion vegetarian beef flavor to make the broth. Came out darker than the photo, but I would recommend it if you are looking for something very savory. Also substituted butter for the oil, per recommendations, and that too worked beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplevegie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was great! Flavorful and very comparable to the classic gravy I remember from my meat-eating past. I lightly sauteed a whole onion (I really like onions) and garlic, and then pureed it in the blender with the remaining ingredients, minus flour. Then I heated the mixture on the stove in a saucepan and added the flour last. A 1/2 cup makes a super thick gravy. I also subbed sage for poultry seasoning and nixed the nutritional yeast, but only because I didn't have any. It turned out fabulously, and my dad said, "wow that's almost better than mine..."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made it tonight for our first vegan Thanksgiving and it was delicious!! I think I overcooked it because by the time dinner was ready it was pretty thick and not pourable. This is the only gravy recipe I'll ever make! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I wow'd some meat-eaters with this one! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This gravy is great! HOWEVER, I couldn't find nutritional yeast at the store so I just bought active dry yeast. The gravy turned out super thick so I added a cup of water and then I realized I should have used milk. It was still thick so I added a half of cup of milk also. I didn't want to add extra oil because of the fat. I ended up with lots more gravy and it was still thick. It tasted great! My kids love it too. I would add 1 1/2 cups of milk or do what I did so it isn't so thick. Much better than I expected and tons better than the last vegetarian gravy I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltomczak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was my table gravy for T-giving last year. Absolutely delicious. Doubled quite well. But the original non-doubled recipe does call for 1/2 cup of oil, which was WAY too much. I did not add any more oil when doubling the recipe. I will use this recipe again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Racedogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Grantsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Delicious! Thanks for all the reviews, here are the alterations I made per the recommendations made. 1/4 cup butter, sauteed the onions, garlic and about 1/2 cup of chopped mushrooms. Omitted the salt completely and halved the soy sauce. Didn't have nutritional yeast, so substituted parmesan cheese. My mashed potatoes will never go gravy-less again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made this to go with vegetarian shepherds pie for the 3 kids I look after, 4 7 and 8. They gobbled it up and raved about how much better it is than regular gravy. It makes lots so I think I am going to try out for some poutine later on in the week. I didn't add any extra salt because I used bouillon cubes instead of broth. I also used tamari sauce instead of light soy sauce and left out the sage and black pepper. I added an extra cup of water though in order to get my desire constancy. Turned out great overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Very good!! I have been missing a gravy since I went Vegetarian, and this gravy is PERFECT!! I am a very picky eater, and I also wont eat anything with palm oil (or anything that the ingredients have palm oil, because it destroys rain forest to get it). This is PERFECT!! Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Totally awesome, amazing yumminess. Even meat eaters love this recipe. I add much more garlic and sage than it calls for. I also add some thyme. sooooooo good. Thanx Becky!!! best gravy I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States