Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This gravy is delicious! I discovered this recipe a few years ago, and it has been a Thanksgiving staple ever since! You can make a big batch of it and freeze some for a later date. Hint: I get my nutritional yeast at Central Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elise_crash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This gravy is delicious. I've made it a few times and tweeked it based on the reviews I read. I reduced the oil and flour to 1/4 cup. I'm the vegetarian of the family, but my meat eating relatives prefer this gravy over their traditional turkey gravy. I've also prepared it with mushrooms added to the onion. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheHejnyHouse
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
We have made this a few years in a row now! It's a big hit here the only things we have changed is adding a no-chicken chicken broth instead of vegetable. And instead of the usual amount of soy sauce we do 2 teaspoons of soy sauce and 2 teaspoons of gravy master!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Buttery and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vego
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This gravy is crazy good! The nutritional yeast is **IMPORTANT**. I used fresh homegrown sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was easy to make and delicious! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Delicious and easy! Some people found it to be thick, but I didn't. It's supposed to be a paste first and then you thin it out with broth. It was amazing! I'm never buying a packet of gravy again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I learned the hard way that in this recipe, light soy sauce means reduced-sodium. (In the Asian food world, there is "light" soy sauce versus "thick" soy sauce.) The gravy came out pretty salty...but still underneath the salt there was great flavor. I can see how this is a 5 star recipe and I'll make it again...the right way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I put it on a vegetarian version of Shepherds pie and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I only use 1/3 cup oil and 1/3 cup flour but it still turns out great. I use this as my go-to gravy for all my holiday feasts! Even the non-vegetarians love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States