Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! I followed the recipe to the letter, except I cut back on the garlic just a bit & I used vegan chik'n bouillon + water for the vegetable broth. It was so easy & quick to make, and the results were just amazingly delicious. Vegans & meat-eaters alike LOVE this recipe! It doubles nicely, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Finally! A vegetarian gravy that tastes good and that I successfully made! I eat dairy so instead of oil I used 2 TABLESPOONS of BUTTER, and only 2 TABLESPOONS of FLOUR. The consistency was perfect and the flavor was amazing. Next time I think I will start with half of the soy and add more if needed, and I didn't add the extra 1/2 tsp salt. It was a little on the salty side, but that could have been due to the broth brand used. I will definitely make this for my Quorn "Turkey" log and potatoes for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I am a vegetarian and have been on an endless trek to find a good veggie gravy. I was very excited to try this based on its good reviews but I was sooo disappointed. I tried incorporating the other reviewers tips - using butter instead of oil; cutting down both the butter and flour to 1/4 cup; omitting the salt due to using regular soya sauce... I'm a big garlic fan but was suspicious about 5 cloves, but, against my better judgement, I went ahead and threw them all in and MAN - it was WAAY too garlicy. And coming from me, that should tell you something. It probably didn't need more than 2 cloves. Even besides that, I thought it tasted a bit "funky". I may try to play around with this more in the future, but for now I'm back to my powdered organic veggie gravy packets I buy at the grocery store...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I use a lot less oil than listed, because it tends to separate as it cools if you use the full amount. Still tastes great with less oil, though. I make this recipe every Thanksgiving, every time I make mashed potatoes, and when I want poutine. LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I was thoroughly impressed with how delicious this tasted. I halved the recipe because I was feeding a small amount of people and the measurements transferred well. I don't really think salt & pepper is necessary, though. And combination Italian seasoning worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was really tasty. Even my husband who is not at all a vegetarian thought it could compete with real gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This gravy was amazing. Even my non-vegetarian husband raved about it. I didn't have any sage on hand so I used rosemary instead... tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Absolutely delicious, could never tell it was even vegetarian! The only thing I would do is cut down on the oil, much to oily. Maybe cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Best vegetarian gravy I've ever made. SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I LOVED this recipe! The only changes I made were to leave out the yeast because I couldn't find the right kind at the store, and I used butter instead of oil. Yes, as other reviews have said, it turned out really thick, but I like thick gravy, and the taste was DELICIOUS. My grocery store does not carry any plain vegetarian brown gravy, so I'm very happy to have found this recipe to use for my vegetarian husband. Thank you, Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States