Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Better than the real deal in my opinion. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I made this recipe for my Permaculture class and everyone LOVED IT. I love it too. My friends who are too picky to try anything new took a little taste, and fell in love. I am not vegetarian, nor are most of the students who ate it (with biscuits) yet compliments abounded. It is an EASY gravy recipe to follow!! This is the first time I have made gravy and even I coudn't mess it up. I did follow other's advice and cut the vegetable oil and flour in half. There was no pooling of oil. I substituted "nutritional yeast" with a tb of cornstarch and added chopped onions. YUMMMMMYYY. A hearty, tasty gravy. Thank you for posting this recipe it wowed my students and peers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This is a very good gravy that uses ingredients I usually have in the kitchen. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Thanks so much Becky. As a new vegetarian (about a month), I faced my first real meat craving the other night. I really wanted some comfort food and my mind went right to brown gravy and hamburger. Instead, I made your gravy and it was excellent. The only thing I added, that other posters have also said, was about a cup of water. This gravy got really thick, really quick. However, the taste was excellent and it satisfied my craving. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I thought this gravy was better than any animal-based gravy I've ever had and my omni family agreed! I used 1/4 C each of oil and flour, my onions were minced, I cooked the flour for awhile before adding the other, I used mushroom broth, only a pinch of salt, no sage and a tiny pinch of rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
excellent in everyway. easy and very quick love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful recipe as this has now become the standard in all dishes requiring gravy! May Allah contintue to bless you in such endeavors! Peace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
OK, I was skeptical at first too. Don't let looks deceive you! This is an excellent gravy. We use to be fans of turkey gravy for years but now we are on team veggie gravy's side!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Super super yummy and so easy to make!! This goes well with pretty much anything you want to pour over it. Even my carnivorous husband loves it! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This gravy is incredible! You can find the Nutritional Yeast at Whole Foods and It really makes this gravy divine! I recommend you do use it. I made this gravy with my vegetarian Thanksgiving meal and everyone loved it and they are all meat eaters. I made a double recipe and we ate it all, we made another batch the next day! I added a couple cloves more of garlic and if i recommend a garlic press you want the garlic to almost melt into the gravy. The Key is to constantly stir! Keep extra broth on hand if you over cook it will get very thick but you can add more broth to get it the consistency you want it. it does start to separate when it sits too long so serve immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States