Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This gravy is incredible! You can find the Nutritional Yeast at Whole Foods and It really makes this gravy divine! I recommend you do use it. I made this gravy with my vegetarian Thanksgiving meal and everyone loved it and they are all meat eaters. I made a double recipe and we ate it all, we made another batch the next day! I added a couple cloves more of garlic and if i recommend a garlic press you want the garlic to almost melt into the gravy. The Key is to constantly stir! Keep extra broth on hand if you over cook it will get very thick but you can add more broth to get it the consistency you want it. it does start to separate when it sits too long so serve immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I have played with this recipe many times and it is absolutely delicious! I use Pacifica Low Sodium vegetable broth. I haven't tried homemmade broth yet. I have never tried the nutritional yeast component, but it's always amazing gravy! The soy sauce can be omitted in favor of salt, but the soy sauce gives it a more appetizing color. The only ingredient you really cannot ommit is the garlic. I love this gravy. It's a good way to cut down on unhealthy fats. If you make this with olive oil, it's actually good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I love, love, love nutritional yeast - based gravys! I made this to go with buscits & gravy and it was awesome. For personal preferences, I made the following changes: lightly roasted the flour in the pan before adding the yeast (increased to 1/3 cup), then added the 1/2 cup of fat, by using 1/4 c oil & 1/4 c butter. I subbed braggs for soy sauce as a healthier option and reduced that by about a tablespoon. I added about a tablespoon of mince garlic, but no onion because I was out. I also ended up adding a little more water as I went along in order to get the consistency that I wanted. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Wonderful! I added fresh chopped sage and used it as a vegetable pot pie filling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenbridges
Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Hard to believe this is vegetarian. It's delicious and tastes like the "real thing."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Perfect gravy. I've been a vegetarian for 25 years and this one is the best I've tried. I'm a careless sort of cook and don't measure carefully and I'm always surprised when something turns out well. This looks to be a fail-proof recipe. I did add more onions (because I didn't want to throw away the rest).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Delicious recipe! It was a huge hit with both my vegan and meat eating family members. I deviated from the recipe slightly and used potato water and bullion to make the broth with great results. I recommend using a little less soy sauce than the recipe suggests, but then I was using full soy, not light. Otherwise it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is a delicious gravy that we used as a sauce over egg noodles, addictive!! I did use one giant garlic instead of the 4 regular and 4 leaves of fresh sage instead of the dried. This is definitely one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Everyone loved this gravy at Thanksgiving. Has a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This gravy is the best vegetarian gravy I have ever tasted. We use this instead of the Tofurky gravy that comes in the box because this one is creamier and much more delicious! Definitely a staple in my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States