Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
excellent in everyway. easy and very quick love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful recipe as this has now become the standard in all dishes requiring gravy! May Allah contintue to bless you in such endeavors! Peace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
OK, I was skeptical at first too. Don't let looks deceive you! This is an excellent gravy. We use to be fans of turkey gravy for years but now we are on team veggie gravy's side!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Super super yummy and so easy to make!! This goes well with pretty much anything you want to pour over it. Even my carnivorous husband loves it! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This gravy is incredible! You can find the Nutritional Yeast at Whole Foods and It really makes this gravy divine! I recommend you do use it. I made this gravy with my vegetarian Thanksgiving meal and everyone loved it and they are all meat eaters. I made a double recipe and we ate it all, we made another batch the next day! I added a couple cloves more of garlic and if i recommend a garlic press you want the garlic to almost melt into the gravy. The Key is to constantly stir! Keep extra broth on hand if you over cook it will get very thick but you can add more broth to get it the consistency you want it. it does start to separate when it sits too long so serve immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I have played with this recipe many times and it is absolutely delicious! I use Pacifica Low Sodium vegetable broth. I haven't tried homemmade broth yet. I have never tried the nutritional yeast component, but it's always amazing gravy! The soy sauce can be omitted in favor of salt, but the soy sauce gives it a more appetizing color. The only ingredient you really cannot ommit is the garlic. I love this gravy. It's a good way to cut down on unhealthy fats. If you make this with olive oil, it's actually good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I love, love, love nutritional yeast - based gravys! I made this to go with buscits & gravy and it was awesome. For personal preferences, I made the following changes: lightly roasted the flour in the pan before adding the yeast (increased to 1/3 cup), then added the 1/2 cup of fat, by using 1/4 c oil & 1/4 c butter. I subbed braggs for soy sauce as a healthier option and reduced that by about a tablespoon. I added about a tablespoon of mince garlic, but no onion because I was out. I also ended up adding a little more water as I went along in order to get the consistency that I wanted. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Wonderful! I added fresh chopped sage and used it as a vegetable pot pie filling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenbridges
Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Hard to believe this is vegetarian. It's delicious and tastes like the "real thing."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Perfect gravy. I've been a vegetarian for 25 years and this one is the best I've tried. I'm a careless sort of cook and don't measure carefully and I'm always surprised when something turns out well. This looks to be a fail-proof recipe. I did add more onions (because I didn't want to throw away the rest).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States