Vegetarian Four Cheese Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
So, So good. My husband, someone who has to have meat for dinner all they time, love it too. I used butternut squash, couldn't find a pumpkin. I have to say I was very impressed. My eggplant was huge so I had to layers of eggplant. The first layer, I added the extra squash I did't put in the cheese mixture. And teh secong layer of eggplant was with the tomatoes. I couldn't believe how good this was. However, it did take longer then called for. My squash took almost an hour, and the lasagna it's self took about the same. That's because I don't pre-cook my noodles. Or use oven ready. All that means, takes a little extra time. Remember to cover the lasagna for most of the cooking. You don't want to burn the cheese on top. I took it off for the last 15 min. The cheese browned perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
My husband I thought this was great and he's not a fan of eggplant or sweet potatoes. So yes, subbed sweet potatoes for the pumpkin, used lasagna noodles, canned fire roasted tomatoes and homemade pesto. It was so flavorful. My husband had to add salt, but I thought it was fine without. I only wished my kids would have enjoyed it more. We're trying to eat less meat here so I'm sure I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I left out the pasta sheets to lower the carbs in this recipe. Excellent dish and nice way to use eggplant! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Although I did not follow the recipe exactly, this recipe serves as a great base recipe for vegetarian lasagna! For my lasagna, I used eggplant, zucchini, tomatoes, and spinach. I also only used ricotta and feta and did not use any other extra cheeses as it is much too rich for my liking. This was my first time making a lasagna and it definitely was a hit! Next time I will use the intriguing ingredient of pumpkin if I have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was fantastic! My boyfriend really enjoyed it. We didn't have any pumpkin in season so I roasted acorn squash and substituted that instead. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I have been wanting to make a pumpkin lasagna for years and couldn't believe stumbling accross this recipe. It was amazing! My dad was a chef for 9 years and couldn't pinpoint the pumpkin till i pointed it out - the flavors were incredible and blended together so perfectly. I will make this again and again! I had to make two changes - I did only use the top layer of mozz (it got too big for my pan!), and i used canned pumpkin, and it was still so rich and creamy and delicious. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This was so delicious!! I couldn't find pumpkin so I used sweet potato. I didn't boil my noodles either...just seal the lasagna tightly with foil while cooking. I'm amazed everytime I make this, it's so good. Try it without making changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Loved it... used sweet potato's and oven ready noodles and it wa awesome. Even my 11 year old ate it without complaints and he hates veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
OMG so gooooood! I made it as directed (except used acorn squash and oven ready noodles) and love, love, love it. My husband, my two year old, and my 8 month old... we all loved it. And I don't like eggplant or squash at all!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
We love this recipe. Substituting a can of pure pumpkin puree works perfectly for the roasted pumpkin, and substituting a can of plain stewed tomatoes (roughly chop before adding) for the fresh gives a great taste as well. The substitutions only pare down preparation time, yet still have great flavor. Excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISSY7448

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Goshen, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States