Vegetarian Four Cheese Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This recipe is fantastic. I have made it twice and it barely lasts 2 days. Regarding a couple of the other comments here: I fried the eggplant (cut 1/4 inch thick as the recipe specifies) with NO OIL. If you add oil then the eggplant will get soggy and it will destroy the texture. I fried them for about 8 minutes on each side. I also substituted butternut squash for pumpkin. As another reviewer mentioned, you can buy it pre-cut from trader Joes or dice it yourself. I had to bake them in the oven for longer than the recipe states to get the consistency I wanted (about 45 minutes.) I do not suggest using canned pumpkin. Part of what makes this recipe so flavorful is the ricotta/feta/pesto mixture. I used french feta (as it is sweeter) and high quality pine-nut pesto. I made sure not to use any pesto with lemon in it. And lastly I used heirloom tomatoes (as it is tomato season right now.) You will need to wait for the juices to run out after baking the tomatoes but high quality sweet tomatoes really make a difference here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
A keeper!! Everybody went back for seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
HOLY COW! AMAZING! I used butternut squash in place of the pumpkin. BEST lasagna ever!!! Next time I might try subbing spinach for the eggplant and add some caramelized onions, just to change it up, but it's perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Delicious. All the cheese makes these so yummy.I added a layer of cottage cheese too because my Gma used to do it and it is delicious. My kids really enjoyed it. I used a veggie mixture of zucchini, squash, broccoli, mushrooms, onion and garlic. I just used regular noodles, and boiled them to al dente before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very tasty, make sure pumpkin is cooked through before adding to lasagna. Next time I'd dice all the veggies a bit smaller but otherwise this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Tasty, but was a lot of work. Feel like I could have made an equally delicious lasagna with less effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This recipes was SO DELICIOUS!! I made it with all of the ingredients and added zuccini and squash to make it a Harvest Vegetarian Lasagna!!I thought the pumpkin was very interesting to add into a lasagna but it gave it a great flavor!! Thanks BLACK_CAT52!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
this lasagna is dream worthy. seriously, i adored it. it is everything i have always wanted a lasagna to be but it never was. and here it is. and it was. and it was good. my family enjoyed it but i was really quite wild about it. i used sweet potatoes since thats all they had. but yes, i will see this lasagna tonight. in my dreams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayt Krepcho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Lovely and fresh lasagna sheets definitely much better than the dried stuff. This recipe can also be made with roasted butternut squash.........in the same manner as the pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is an excellent vegetarian lasagna recipe! I used a butternut squash in place of a pumpkin, since pumpkin was out of season. Next time I am going to add mushrooms and spinach as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatmaliscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States