Vegetarian Four Cheese Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This was very good. I took the advise of some who had made this previously and added cream to the tomato sauce. I also used butternut squash instead of pumpkin...delicious...I should have doubled the amount of squash. To me it made the lasagna distinctive. Also it needed more eggplant. I didn't use roasted tomatos because of the expense...I hope it wasn't a mistake. Overall, the dish was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleburne, Texas, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Great recipe but had to fix a few things:"fresh pasta shhets"> I used 9 lasagna noodles cooked 7 min.Used fresh basil in place of pesto.Omitted tomatoes & used asparagus I blanched first.Used more sauce,28 OZ can tomato puree/half jar spaghetti sauce.Instaed of fresh parm.cheese used 4 OZ Italian blend shredded cheese.Think this is the best lasagna I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYSOLA

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I thought that I would mess this up for sure, but it came out great. I only put in 5 oz of feta and I added a little more eggplant and mozzerella. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thelastrabbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
10 stars! I actually used kabocha squash and used extra to take the place of the eggplant. Even with wholewheat pasta it was YUM YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This recipe was a big hit for Thanksgiving. Works nicely as a vegetarian entree, and the meat eaters can have some as a side dish. Was also very tasty for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Wow. This was soooo good! I love squash and pumpkin, and am always looking for creative ways to prepare them. I made a few small changes, but for the most part, didn't deviate too much from the recipe. Instead of pumpkin, I used butternut squash, and mashed it slightly after roasting in a bit of butter. Instead of just feta, I used a mix of feta and crumbled goat cheese. I also added (as other reviewers did) a layer of caramelized onions and sliced baby bella mushrooms. I did double the sauce, which I am glad I did because my ricotta mix was a bit dry and I was worried that the no-boil lasagna noodles I used wouldn't soften properly without more liquid. For the sauce, I made a tomato cream sauce, because I felt that it went better with the sweet flavor of the squash. The last slight change I made was to wrap my pesto in lots of paper towels and squeeze the you-know-what out of it, which got rid of all that extra oil (probably why my ricotta mix was a bit dry). The lasagna reheated really well the next day (might have been even better!). Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Whoever invented this recipe is a genius. Now, it is a pain to make, however, it freezes like a dream and if you plan right you can make a whole year's worth in a day (which was perfect for me since all my pumpkin, tomatoes, and eggplants came ripe on the same day...well, you know). Anyway, feel free to adapt as it can take it. I have done with and without pesto, have subbed straight basil and/or lemon basil for the pesto, have used acorn squash and/or butternut squash in lieu of pumpkin, have added more or less sauce and, finally, used regular ole' packaged lasagna noodles (not cooked) and every one of them has been fab. Don't be afraid of the work on this one, just plan ahead. It is really worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Wow! I did not expect something soooo good from these unusual ingredients. I seldom make vegetarian meals but this was incredible. I did make some changes though. I used 1% cottage cheese instead of ricotta and roasted red pepper pesto because I don't like basil. I didn'r have any mozzarella so I used Havarti instead. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Great flavor and our guests really enjoyed it but used canned pumpkin which made it a little too wet. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Delicious! I was looking for a way to make lasagna with eggplant and this more than passed my expectations. I made a few slight alterations. First, I cut the recipe in half but still used the same amount of lasagna noodles and used a 7 x 11 pan. I didn't have fresh pumpkin and have never seen it canned so I used the pureed type and used almost a cup. Also, I used cottage cheese in place of ricotta, a personal preference. And I chunked the tomatoes after baking them. My husband and I loved it, no big surprise, the kids wouldn't touch it, so plan to have something else for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States