Vegetarian Cottage Cheese Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I just wanted to say you don't have to fry these. I make them into patties and put directly into lightly greased 9x13 and bake about 10 min then add the soup cover and bake the 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This recipe was fantastic! I have a few suggestions though: If you want to fry the patties and you don't want them to fall apart in the process, add shredded cheese and dip the unfried patty in bread crumbs before frying. They turn out FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
EXCELLENT and tasty. I may never eat meat again! Versatile as well..I made a meat loaf and it was fine. I also vary the spice ingredients..green chillis, anise, chille power chopped tomatoes and sag, endless variety!! INCREDIBLE! I've already made 3 batches. I think the fried patties are the best...don't forget the bread crumbs before frying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Okanogan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Great recipe, but even better with a few changes. We added parmesan cheese, minced onion, dijon mustard and worcestshire to the patty mix, and as other reviewers mentioned, we coated the patties in breadcrumbs before frying. This made an excellent vegetarian meal for a family of 4 kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I followed the suggestion to bake these instead of frying and had no problem with them sticking. I'm only giving this recipe 3 stars because I thought they were too salty. Between the dry onion soup mix and the cream of mushroom soup, it was really too much salt for my tastbuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Made for my myself, two young boys and husband and they all liked. Didn't tell my little boys what was in them so they had to go on moms trust but they ate and said it was good. I personally thought they were very tasty and probably the best veggie patty I have eaten and can't beleive I made myself. I will be eating them in buns for lunch until they are gone. This recipe makes a lot. I would encourage everyone to try this recipe if your sick of buying meat all the time. I added breadcrumbs and used healthy cream of muchroom soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Roth-Stiarwalt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This is simply amazing! The smell from cooking the patties woke my husband from his sleep. He immediately tasted a patty and said WOW. I did not cook them in the oven or use the soup. I just fried them up until both sides were brown on a non-stick pan using very little or no oil. The patties have just the right amount of protein and carbs. Each patty I made comes to about 125 cal. so I'm very happy about them being healthy too. My patties did not fall apart at all which is a problem I have been having with other patty recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is a great recipe. I was particularly happy to find it because it is both vegetarian and gluten-free (if you omit the wheat germ)which is a hard combination to come by sometimes. I baked it instead of frying, but would give it a little more baking time next time (probably 15 minutes in the oven, then top with the mushroom soup and bake 20 more minutes). Also, a tip for vegetarians: Make sure to check the label on the dry soup package. Some brands have animal fat in the mix. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I couldn't wait to try this recipe and I am soo glad I did. I am a vegetarian and always on the lookout for new recipes. This is my all time favorite, hands down. I opted for a loaf instead of patties and it was DELICIOUS. I have leftovers for lunches all week. Thank you for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I've had the other version that calls for nuts instead of oats and I like this one a lot better. No grainy texture here. I skipped the mushroom soup all together, though. I only used a cup of cottage cheese because that's what I had and the texture was perfect. Also added about a 1/4 c. of mozzarella to the mix. I patted them in breadcrumbs before frying. Ate one on a bun tonight with ketchup and mayo. So good! Will be eating the leftovers with mashed potatoes and gravy later this week. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States