Vegetarian Cottage Cheese Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
My family has made cottage cheese patties for 30+ years, but a little different variation; we use bread crumbs instead of oats (whole wheat crumbs if you can find them!), add finely diced green bell pepper and onion, add chopped walnuts (the crunch is great!), omit the dry onion mix, and dredge the patties in a beaten egg with a few tablespoons of milk mixture and then crushed cornflakes prior to frying them (baking works too, if you flip them over so both sides get crispy!) Be sure to mix the mushroom soup with a can of milk, or the sauce is waaaaaaaay too salty and thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
My husband loves these. Very good flavor and easy to make. Have had this recipe many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Mixed reviews on this one in my Family. i personally am not inclined to make it again but MR said he liked it. 2yr old would not touch it I just thought it was OK. I found it to be a but too salty and I wasnt a fan if the soup on top where as MR said the soup made the recipe. Will keep recipe around and maybe try again but I'm not in a hurry to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
These are really tasty and I will definitely be making them again and again. I baked them for 20 mins, then turned them over and added the sauce and baked them for 20 more in stead of frying. My mother and boyfriend (both meat eaters) loved them. I might add parmesan cheese on top next time, but they were delicious without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Wow! These are ridiculously good!The mixture was a little runny, so I added some Italian style bread crumbs and some of the plain ones, so after that they held together nicely. I browned them on both sides on the very slightly greased pan and then baked for 10 minutes. They came out great! So full of flavor and the texture is great too! They remind me od real beef Russian cutlets, but since I am vegetarian now I am going to make these over and over again! And so healthy, too! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is a staple in my house. I don't fry them at all. I baked them for 12 minutes on each side on a well greased cookie sheet. While that's baking I make a mushroom onion gravy to put over. Delicious! I make this once a week, since I always have the ingredients handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I really liked the taste of these...would say that they are about 4.5 starts. It was a little too salty...maybe next time I would only add 1/2 the onion packet or 1/2 the soup. They also fell apart while frying.....I think I would just try baking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Really good.... to quote my meat & potatoes husband. "I don't want to know what's in them, but definitely make them again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Awesome! These were so tasty, and I love that it's healthy, inexpensive and very easy. I did have difficulty with the consistency when trying to fry - they kept breaking apart. I ended up giving up halfway through and just opted to bake without frying the whole batch. Worked just fine. I baked alone for 6 or 8 minutes, then added the soup topping and baked another 20 or so. I did find the recipe quite salty, and may cut down on the dry onion soup mix, or use reduced-sodium cream of mushroom soup next time. I was out of thyme, and opted for caraway instead (yum). Added some worcestershire as others suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Pleasantly surprised! I LOVED these patties! My boyfriend liked them a lot too! They reminded me of a really delicious stuffing I made once. I didn't want to stop eating them! Next time I'll make a little more of the mushroom soup! Soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States