Vegetarian Cottage Cheese Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I made these last night for dinner and my meat loving husband gave it 4 out of 5 stars. I only used 1/2 of the onion soup packet based on other reviews. I used egg beaters and nonfat cottage cheese. I did add in about a half a cup more of organic rolled oats than the recipe called for because the mixture was too thin to make into patties. Even after adding the extra rolled oats, the patties wanted to break easily, so I made them kind of small (they fit in the palm of my hand), laid them in bread crumbs and coated them generously, then put them in a preheated electric skillet with some extra light olive oil and fried them at 350 for 5 minutes per side. Don't flip them too early, or they will break. I then placed the fried patties in a 13x9 dish as the recipe states. I did use one can of cream of mushroom, milk instead of water, and I added 1/4 cup of sour cream per another reviewer. My husband and I decided it needed a little more flavor, and we added natural salt. It was perfect. We both like these a lot and I will definitely be making them again. They are very filling and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was really good just way too salty. Next time I'll use half a packet of dry onion soup. Otherwise great as a main dish because it's very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuffsalush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
These were awesome, they sound so weird, but I was curious. Even my teenage son liked em'. Since I don't eat meat I didn't have anything to compare them with, but my son said they reminded him of chicken fried steak. Will keep on making em'. I will use one more can of crm. of mush. soup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandy colorado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I really wanted to like this recipe, but it just didn't work for out house. I found the patties a bit too bland on their own. The cream of mushroom soup sauce wasn't the best idea for us, either. Neither of us really go for that. I think it might go over better in my home if I made up a mushroom gravy, and spiced the patties differently. The hubby, a meat eater, says he preferred seitan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This recipe was an unlikely hit at my house. The combination of ingredients sounds "iffy" at best, but my two teenage daughters liked this so much that they asked to have it for two consecutive days the first time I prepared it. This has definitely become a favorite at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Delish! I followed the recipe exactly, and even my kids ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This was just delicious, but too salty for my high blood pressure. I would just LOVE someone to concoct a low salt version as the flavors were just yummy....I guess I will challenge myself to that effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I've had the other version that calls for nuts instead of oats and I like this one a lot better. No grainy texture here. I skipped the mushroom soup all together, though. I only used a cup of cottage cheese because that's what I had and the texture was perfect. Also added about a 1/4 c. of mozzarella to the mix. I patted them in breadcrumbs before frying. Ate one on a bun tonight with ketchup and mayo. So good! Will be eating the leftovers with mashed potatoes and gravy later this week. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
My husband and I just finished eating these for dinner with some wild rice and green beans. They were delicious! I did not have cream of mushroom soup so I used cream of celery with the splash of Worchester sauce. I did fry them in EVOO with a breaded coating which gave a nice texture. I am anxious to try these in a bun sometime. Thank you for sharing. This will be a staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I really love this recipe! After the first time making this, I simply gave up on the patties and frying. I just spread the mixture in a baking dish and covered with the cream of mushroom soup. Then just cut and serve. Much less messy! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateTate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States