Vegetarian Cottage Cheese Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I REALLY enjoyed these! As did my husband. I was leary b/c I'm not a fan of cottage cheese, but you couldnt even tell! I only used 1/2 of the onion soup mix, and I'm glad I did, b/c the flavor was plenty strong enough. I followed another reviewer and baked for 10 minutes, added the mushroom soup and baked for another 20. It probably could have stayed in a little longer, but it was still good. They were very crumbly before being cooked. But this wasnt a big deal as I just sprinkled the breadcrumbs on both sides and plopped it into the pan. We will definitely make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCITTI45

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This patty is good. I agree with some other reviewers that next time I'd use only half the envelope of dry onion soup. Also, I followed someone's advice and didn't fry them - I formed the patty, dredged it in bread crumbs, then baked on a greased cookie sheet for about 20 minutes. I warmed the soup on the stove and spooned it over the patty on each plate. Also, I'd like to try a different sauce instead of the cream of mushroom soup -- between the dry onion soup mix, and the cream of onion soup, it had too much of a 'canned soup' feel. But overall, the patty itself is good and can be adjusted to suit different tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I'm being kind by giving this recipe 4 stars because I think my proportions were off somehow. I fried with the lite coating of breadcrumbs on top as suggested. Instead of then baking the patties with mushroom soup on top I baked them without the mushroom soup and added a homemade mushroom sauce when they came out of the oven. They were a bit dry and like I said, I think my proportions were off (too much oats?). Because I like the idea i'm going to try to make this again paying better attention to what i'm doing, and I will bake with the mushroom soup (or the sauce) on top. This meal DEFINITELY needed a green counterpoint ... definitely will be serving with a nice salad next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is such a tasty dish. I also had problems with the patties falling apart but will try the other suggestions. Anyway, they taste so good it doesn't matter that they looked bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I halved the recipe and skipped the cream of mushroom and ate it with ketchup and a side of spicy fries. i realized that i don't like the taste of thyme, but im not going to nitpick. i added a handful of shreaded cheese and i used beefy onion soup instead of original onion soup, because i was cooking for myself, and im not a vegetarian. i have lots of leftover, but i don't know if i'll use it because of the thyme, i'd rather start from scratch and omit it. My roommate is too picky to even try it, but i liked it very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I made these last night for dinner and my meat loving husband gave it 4 out of 5 stars. I only used 1/2 of the onion soup packet based on other reviews. I used egg beaters and nonfat cottage cheese. I did add in about a half a cup more of organic rolled oats than the recipe called for because the mixture was too thin to make into patties. Even after adding the extra rolled oats, the patties wanted to break easily, so I made them kind of small (they fit in the palm of my hand), laid them in bread crumbs and coated them generously, then put them in a preheated electric skillet with some extra light olive oil and fried them at 350 for 5 minutes per side. Don't flip them too early, or they will break. I then placed the fried patties in a 13x9 dish as the recipe states. I did use one can of cream of mushroom, milk instead of water, and I added 1/4 cup of sour cream per another reviewer. My husband and I decided it needed a little more flavor, and we added natural salt. It was perfect. We both like these a lot and I will definitely be making them again. They are very filling and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was really good just way too salty. Next time I'll use half a packet of dry onion soup. Otherwise great as a main dish because it's very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuffsalush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
These were awesome, they sound so weird, but I was curious. Even my teenage son liked em'. Since I don't eat meat I didn't have anything to compare them with, but my son said they reminded him of chicken fried steak. Will keep on making em'. I will use one more can of crm. of mush. soup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandy colorado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I really wanted to like this recipe, but it just didn't work for out house. I found the patties a bit too bland on their own. The cream of mushroom soup sauce wasn't the best idea for us, either. Neither of us really go for that. I think it might go over better in my home if I made up a mushroom gravy, and spiced the patties differently. The hubby, a meat eater, says he preferred seitan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This recipe was an unlikely hit at my house. The combination of ingredients sounds "iffy" at best, but my two teenage daughters liked this so much that they asked to have it for two consecutive days the first time I prepared it. This has definitely become a favorite at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States