Vegetarian Cottage Cheese Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Made for my myself, two young boys and husband and they all liked. Didn't tell my little boys what was in them so they had to go on moms trust but they ate and said it was good. I personally thought they were very tasty and probably the best veggie patty I have eaten and can't beleive I made myself. I will be eating them in buns for lunch until they are gone. This recipe makes a lot. I would encourage everyone to try this recipe if your sick of buying meat all the time. I added breadcrumbs and used healthy cream of muchroom soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Roth-Stiarwalt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
EXCELLENT and tasty. I may never eat meat again! Versatile as well..I made a meat loaf and it was fine. I also vary the spice ingredients..green chillis, anise, chille power chopped tomatoes and sag, endless variety!! INCREDIBLE! I've already made 3 batches. I think the fried patties are the best...don't forget the bread crumbs before frying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Okanogan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Great recipe, but even better with a few changes. We added parmesan cheese, minced onion, dijon mustard and worcestshire to the patty mix, and as other reviewers mentioned, we coated the patties in breadcrumbs before frying. This made an excellent vegetarian meal for a family of 4 kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Seemed like a great idea, but there was too much packaged and canned soup flavour for my taste. The onion soup flavour, particularly, was overwhelming. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
this was a really good and easy recipe. i honestly would never have thought of trying this and it is weird but it tastes pretty good. i took the suggestion to bake it fro 10 minutes instead of frying it which worked great, i have no idea how you would have fried it, lol. i didn't have any wheat germ but i threw in some bread crumbs to try and get it to stick together a little more. i also added a few italian herbs. i also took the suggestion of using the 25% less sodium cream of mushroom soup and i'm really glad i did. i decided to try it as a sandwich so i threw on a slice of provolone and tomato and put it on a toasted english muffin. it was really tasty! i'm eating the leftovers now for lunch sans tomato and english muffin and it's still good. i'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
these came out o.k. I think next time I make them I will omit the cream of mushroom soup and add some italian spices instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goose

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Moab, Utah, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I was a little short (about 1/2 cup) on oatmeal, so I substituted an equal amount wheat germ in addition to the 3 tablespoons and it was very good. I did not fry- I baked them in a 9x13 sprayed w/ non-stick spray for 15 minutes first, then baked them for 25 with the cream of mushroom. I forgot to cover it but it was still fine. I also used non-fat cottage cheese and 25% less sodium cream of mushroom and would have used lower sodium soup mix if I could have found it. It was not too salty, but I could see how it could be. I sliced tomato on top of the patties after drizzling extra soup on top and used some pepper- that's it. Very good. My bf who is not a fan of cottage cheese or mushroom loved it. Try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
These were ok, but my husband and I are spoiled because both of our mothers have recipes we like better. Also, frying these was a really big pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
i do not fry mine, i do add a splash or 2 of worcestershire sauce to the patty mix and a dash of sage. you can use cream of celery instead of mushroom, and i like to add 1/2 cup of sour cream to that. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I followed the suggestion to bake these instead of frying and had no problem with them sticking. I'm only giving this recipe 3 stars because I thought they were too salty. Between the dry onion soup mix and the cream of mushroom soup, it was really too much salt for my tastbuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States