Vegetarian Cottage Cheese Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
These are sooo good. I followed some of the suggestions of other reviewers. I coated them with crushed croutons before frying and used only half a pack of the onion soup mix. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I really had trouble keeping the patties together. I did what another reveiwer said and added extra oats worked great. Left out the onion soup and used worchestershire sauce added fresh onion, cheddar and another reviewers idea parmesan cheese. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Just a friendly note to an early suggestion of adding worcestershire sauce: it usually isn't vegetarian! It most often contains anchovies. There are vegetarian options for worcestershire, which you can find at your local organic food shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I couldn't wait to try this recipe and I am soo glad I did. I am a vegetarian and always on the lookout for new recipes. This is my all time favorite, hands down. I opted for a loaf instead of patties and it was DELICIOUS. I have leftovers for lunches all week. Thank you for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
My step-son who's a vegetarian was visiting, so we decided to make the cottage cheese patties together. I had my doubts, but they were actually VERY good!! I'd coat them in seasoned bread crumbs to hold their shape. The entire family enjoyed them and they were a welcome break from red meat. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I made these with cottage cheese, eggs, oats, panko bread crumbs, and just a little onion soup mix, formed in small patties and coated them with more panko bread crumbs, baked them for about 20 minutes, then under the broiler till each side turned brown and they were awesome and lowfat!! I can't believe how good they taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is my first rating and I have to gve it 5 stars. I hate to make anyone think my way is better, but i too made some changes. I doubled this recipe, to take to church, I am a SDA and the congregation is vegetarian, so I was looking for a great recipe I could share. I added 1 pkg of cream cup cheese, smashed walnuts, half of the onion soup mix, and instead of dredging in bread crumbs, I used crushed town house crackers. I mixed 1/4 cup sour cream with the cream of mushroom soup and kept it separate, so it could be spooned over the patties at the last minute. It was very very good. My husband who is a meat lover, and not a fan of cottage cheese loved these. I will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Michaele L.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I LOVED THESE! I had read where others had trouble getting the patties to stick together. My suggestion would be to add more oats until the mixture is thicker. Then, when frying, it is important to wait until a good crust has formed on the bottom of the patty before turning it. The first patty I turned, I did too early, and I had trouble with it falling apart on me. I then waited to turn the others and had no problem. These patties were flavorful and my 18-month-old ate his portion with no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Tried this recipe tonight and it was absolutely delicious. I followed the patty mixture closely minus the wheat germ and used fat free cottage cheese (the recipe didn't specify). I didn't have the sticking problem. They don't stick if you fry them long enough. I used olive oil instead of veggie oil. Since I detest mushrooms, I used fat free cream of broccoli. They turned out perfect. My only suggestion is to use more seasoning. I think I'll try a dash of steak seasoning or crushed red peppers to spice them up a bit next time. Also, may add some smashed pinto beans just to give them a firmer texture and make them more nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara
Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This recipe was great! I didn't fry them either. I served them to my family and everyone loved them too. I would make extra, they were even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States