Vegetarian Cottage Cheese Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I've had the other version that calls for nuts instead of oats and I like this one a lot better. No grainy texture here. I skipped the mushroom soup all together, though. I only used a cup of cottage cheese because that's what I had and the texture was perfect. Also added about a 1/4 c. of mozzarella to the mix. I patted them in breadcrumbs before frying. Ate one on a bun tonight with ketchup and mayo. So good! Will be eating the leftovers with mashed potatoes and gravy later this week. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
My husband and I just finished eating these for dinner with some wild rice and green beans. They were delicious! I did not have cream of mushroom soup so I used cream of celery with the splash of Worchester sauce. I did fry them in EVOO with a breaded coating which gave a nice texture. I am anxious to try these in a bun sometime. Thank you for sharing. This will be a staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I really love this recipe! After the first time making this, I simply gave up on the patties and frying. I just spread the mixture in a baking dish and covered with the cream of mushroom soup. Then just cut and serve. Much less messy! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateTate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I made these exactly as directed except I added some panko bread crumbs to top and bottom of patties. This seemed to help hold them together a little better. They were WONDERFUL. If you are not a fan of thyme, you might want to reduce to 3/4 or 1/2 tsp. I am going to try these as meatballs for meatball subs or spaghetti using italian seasoning instead. Thanks so much for this recipe - love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This is simply amazing! The smell from cooking the patties woke my husband from his sleep. He immediately tasted a patty and said WOW. I did not cook them in the oven or use the soup. I just fried them up until both sides were brown on a non-stick pan using very little or no oil. The patties have just the right amount of protein and carbs. Each patty I made comes to about 125 cal. so I'm very happy about them being healthy too. My patties did not fall apart at all which is a problem I have been having with other patty recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Don't get me wrong--it's a good recipe! I just don't think it's quite awesome as written. I did make modifications (ground flax instead of wheat germ, did not fry--just baked 15 minutes, no soup). I am not a big fan of just cream of chicken soup--it would've needed something else and I couldn't decide what (sour cream? milk?). The onion was a little overpowering...I may use a little less next time unless I do eat it with a saucy topping to help tone it down. Overall, a nice, healthy way to eat up some cottage cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was very good. I served it over mashed potatoes with green beans on the side. Yum! Had a good ole home cookin' taste to it. The kids gobbled it up, too. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is a great recipe. I was particularly happy to find it because it is both vegetarian and gluten-free (if you omit the wheat germ)which is a hard combination to come by sometimes. I baked it instead of frying, but would give it a little more baking time next time (probably 15 minutes in the oven, then top with the mushroom soup and bake 20 more minutes). Also, a tip for vegetarians: Make sure to check the label on the dry soup package. Some brands have animal fat in the mix. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
My family are meat eaters, and they all liked these, even the kids. For us though, the rosemary was too strong, and the french onion. Will try with 1/2 of the soup mix, and maybe italien seasoning, with marinara. Or, perhaps mexican seasonings, with salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Cornell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made these tonight for dinner and OMG they were soo soo good. I followed the directions exactly except I had no thyme so I used parsley and also before I friend them I dredged them in flour. The first one I made flat before I dredged and it wanted to fall apart in the frying pan so the others I made balls out of then I rolled them in flour and laid them in the frying pan and used a floured spatula to flatten and they were perfect. Oh.. and I added a little worcestershire in my mushroom soup. These were so so amazingly good. My kids loved them and both of the boys had 2 each of the patties. This one is a total keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mulberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States