Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is such a good chili. Don't fret if you don't have all the ingredients! Things can be substituted or omitted. For instance I didn't have tomato juice on hand so I used tomato paste and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simplicity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I've made this twice. We like it. My kids finish their bowls. I don't let on to hubs that there is no meat in it and he loves it! Usually I buy the Mexican spiced crumbles so I adjust the spices somewhat. The first time I made it, it wasn't thick enough for me so the second time I left out the tomato juice and added in about a 1/4 cup of concord red grape juice just at the end. Very yummy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I only put 2-3 onions in at a time, and add 2 packages of crumbles because I like meaty chili. Overall it's a great recipe and I've used it 3 times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I prepared this yesterday, Sunday 12/20/09, as instructed, except for adding the faux burger crumbles about half way through cooking as others suggested. I used Morning Star crumbles. A taste before adding the crumbles was a 5-star taste. After the crumbles, not so good. I will make this again but maybe try another brand of faux meat crumbles or leave it out altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Excellent recipe. You can't even tell it's vegetarian. I like to add extra vegetables like red and green peppers, celery and whatever else is in my refrigerator. I also like to add jalapeno peppers to make it spicier. Makes a lot of chili. I freeze most of it. Such a good soup for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilbunnyhuhu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This recipe was so good! But I did not put the fake meat in it. I fed it to all meat eaters. And they loved it. Someone said they wanted to lick the pan. I only put 2 onions in it and that was enough. It made alot so it would be good for a cook-out or to freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Delicious! I jazzed this bad boy up a bit by adding fresh bell peppers (red and green), fresh garlic, jalepenos, and some cayenne pepper. Spicy goodness. Makes a huge batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittybeard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Very good. Only change I made was to zip it up a bit. I added a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with habaneros. My daughter still didn't think it was hot enough, but I thought it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was really good, my friend and I tried making it and it was really easy. We didn't use any meat substitute at all, but we still didn't miss the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancerbabe2007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made this chili in a slow cooker using Morning Star Brand soy crumbles and made up and added 2 of my dad's special chili gravy and it was truly out of this world amazing and delicious. I served it as part of a "Customize Your Own Bowl of Chili Bar" at the Surprise 70th Birthday Party my boyfriend and I threw for my mother this weekend. It met with rave reviews from our guests. Even with out the addition of my dad's chili gravy, it's a great recipe and the recipe author is correct, "They'll never know it's vegetarian!" My guests had no idea and were really surprised when I told them that in addition to being delicious that it was healthy for them and free of animal protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States