Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is my go-to veggie chili recipe! I subsitute one can of dark red kidney beans for white cannellini beans for more variety. It's great for freezing as well. I suggest reheating the chili on the stovetop as opposed to the microwave. Microwaving it just sucks out all moisture. I serve with cheddar & sour cream. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie 215

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This chili recipe is the best!!! I am new to being meatless so I was nervous about the veggie crumbles but they looked like the real thing and actually fooled some of my meat-eating friends! I put it in the crockpot on low for 6-8 hours and it was so good! I also froze the extra for on-the-go meals...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanyrose86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was pretty good, I'd put more vegie's in if i did it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I'm not a big fan of the vegi burgers so instead I added cheese (humane) and mac noodles. Tadaaa! Chili mac! Throw a little cayene pepper in for some heat if you like that sort of thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Awesome recipe!!! My son and husband, who are not vegetarians, loved it! Just enough spice for me. I didn't put in 5 onions as that seemed a little crazy to me, but other than that I followed the recipe as it is. In fact, I'm making a batch in my crock pot right now! Great for these Maine winters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
5 stars with one modification: tomato paste. I used a little less beans, so maybe that was a factor, but the chili wasn't as thick and the major thing, it lacked something. Tomato paste is the missing flavor. I also only used 2 onions, 5 would have been way too much. I added the faux meat at the beginning, but next time I'll add it towards the end. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danakscully64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was very good and quick. I used minced garlic instead of garlic powder, added 1-2 teas. of Cayenne pepper (since we like spicy). Held the bayleaf, and ended up adding more tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfields, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was a great easy to cook recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Vernon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is such a good chili. Don't fret if you don't have all the ingredients! Things can be substituted or omitted. For instance I didn't have tomato juice on hand so I used tomato paste and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simplicity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I've made this twice. We like it. My kids finish their bowls. I don't let on to hubs that there is no meat in it and he loves it! Usually I buy the Mexican spiced crumbles so I adjust the spices somewhat. The first time I made it, it wasn't thick enough for me so the second time I left out the tomato juice and added in about a 1/4 cup of concord red grape juice just at the end. Very yummy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 71-80 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States