Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent blend of flavors! I added carrots and substituted fresh garlic for the powder then sauteed all that with the onions prior to adding the rest of the ingredients. I also added a little bit of wild rice to round out the protein and about half a tablespoon crushed red pepper flakes. I used seitan instead of crumbles and added that half way through. It came out as if it had slow roasted beef tips in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Really great and simple recipe. I made a few adjustments based partly on some of the other reviews. One thing I'd definitely recommend is cooking the onion in a little olive oil first along with some garlic. I chose not to add the soy ground "beef" and it turned out great with out it. It's a nice a simple, and very easily adaptable recipe I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Burger crumbles got very mushy. Too many onions, too much cumin. Disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe! I strained all the beans and added more tomato juice. Also added celery and green peppers. Both people that were over asked for the recipe. I will make this again and again! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I thought this chili was sooo good! I don't eat meat, and that is all my boyfriend eats, so it is very hard to find meals that I can cook for both of us. He doesn't even know that there is fake meat in there! I did tweak it a little, because we like our chili spicy. I used the diced tomatoes with green chili in it, one can of dark red kidney beans, 1 tablespoon of cayanne and dashed red pepper flakes in there to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is the best vegetarian chili I have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Tarzana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was amazing. The only changes made: Used Crushed tomatoes with basil Added 1 can of chick peas All organic and it taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronStef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Fabulous! I had to adapt the beans & tofu to what I can get here, but the seasoning is great. I use only 2 Tbsp. of chili powder because my husband doesn't like things spicy. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was really good! A great simple recipe with yummy results! Even my meat-eating boyfriend loved it! Might add some jalapenos or something to kick up the heat a bit, but overall this was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Awesome recipe! I did, however, do some alterations after reading through some of the other reviews here. I couldn't find any raw tomato juice, so I watered up an 8 oz can of tomato sauce, and it worked quite nicely. I also didn't bother with the bay leaves, used 2 packs of the crumbles, only 1 can of the dark red beans, added celery, carrots, and a can of corn, and about 2 tbsp of brown sugar just for kicks. Topped off each helping with a dollop of sour cream... YUM! My husband couldn't get enough of it, and is now saying he wants it once a month. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States