Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent blend of flavors! I added carrots and substituted fresh garlic for the powder then sauteed all that with the onions prior to adding the rest of the ingredients. I also added a little bit of wild rice to round out the protein and about half a tablespoon crushed red pepper flakes. I used seitan instead of crumbles and added that half way through. It came out as if it had slow roasted beef tips in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Really great and simple recipe. I made a few adjustments based partly on some of the other reviews. One thing I'd definitely recommend is cooking the onion in a little olive oil first along with some garlic. I chose not to add the soy ground "beef" and it turned out great with out it. It's a nice a simple, and very easily adaptable recipe I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Burger crumbles got very mushy. Too many onions, too much cumin. Disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe! I strained all the beans and added more tomato juice. Also added celery and green peppers. Both people that were over asked for the recipe. I will make this again and again! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I thought this chili was sooo good! I don't eat meat, and that is all my boyfriend eats, so it is very hard to find meals that I can cook for both of us. He doesn't even know that there is fake meat in there! I did tweak it a little, because we like our chili spicy. I used the diced tomatoes with green chili in it, one can of dark red kidney beans, 1 tablespoon of cayanne and dashed red pepper flakes in there to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is the best vegetarian chili I have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Tarzana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was amazing. The only changes made: Used Crushed tomatoes with basil Added 1 can of chick peas All organic and it taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronStef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Fabulous! I had to adapt the beans & tofu to what I can get here, but the seasoning is great. I use only 2 Tbsp. of chili powder because my husband doesn't like things spicy. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was really good! A great simple recipe with yummy results! Even my meat-eating boyfriend loved it! Might add some jalapenos or something to kick up the heat a bit, but overall this was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Awesome recipe! I did, however, do some alterations after reading through some of the other reviews here. I couldn't find any raw tomato juice, so I watered up an 8 oz can of tomato sauce, and it worked quite nicely. I also didn't bother with the bay leaves, used 2 packs of the crumbles, only 1 can of the dark red beans, added celery, carrots, and a can of corn, and about 2 tbsp of brown sugar just for kicks. Topped off each helping with a dollop of sour cream... YUM! My husband couldn't get enough of it, and is now saying he wants it once a month. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States