Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was easy and delicious and my family loved it. We each had a bowl of chili with a large salad for dinner. I froze about half of it and it was just as tasty (if not more so) when defrosted and reheated a couple weeks later. I added shredded cheddar cheese and a dollop of sour cream on each serving. It went over very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
So easy! So good! My 6, 4, and 2 year-old loved it (that rarely happens).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I found this recipe neither bad nor particularly good. Due to the canned beans, the texture was too mealy and chewy although the flavor was good. I wouldn't repeat this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
It's still very good chili even without the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yetenekli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is the best chili I have ever had! I highly recommended it! The changes I made: Only 2 large onions, 1 green bell pepper, 2 Jalapenos, cayenne pepper and 6 cloves of garlic. I also sauteed all vegetables and garlic first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This chili is great! My vegetarian boyfriend LOVES it. Goes great with cornbread. I make a few minor adjustments. I only use 2-3 onions (depending on how they look that day. I tend to use sweet onions), and I also add fresh jalapeno peppers and some dashes of cayenne and chipotle to kick up the spice factor. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Not bad. I didn't make it vegetarian. I chose this recipe because of the small list of ingredients that I had on had. I have a favorite from this site but that one takes much longer and it's a long list of ingredients and steps so for something quick, it did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent blend of flavors! I added carrots and substituted fresh garlic for the powder then sauteed all that with the onions prior to adding the rest of the ingredients. I also added a little bit of wild rice to round out the protein and about half a tablespoon crushed red pepper flakes. I used seitan instead of crumbles and added that half way through. It came out as if it had slow roasted beef tips in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Really great and simple recipe. I made a few adjustments based partly on some of the other reviews. One thing I'd definitely recommend is cooking the onion in a little olive oil first along with some garlic. I chose not to add the soy ground "beef" and it turned out great with out it. It's a nice a simple, and very easily adaptable recipe I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Burger crumbles got very mushy. Too many onions, too much cumin. Disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States