Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I prepared this yesterday, Sunday 12/20/09, as instructed, except for adding the faux burger crumbles about half way through cooking as others suggested. I used Morning Star crumbles. A taste before adding the crumbles was a 5-star taste. After the crumbles, not so good. I will make this again but maybe try another brand of faux meat crumbles or leave it out altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Excellent recipe. You can't even tell it's vegetarian. I like to add extra vegetables like red and green peppers, celery and whatever else is in my refrigerator. I also like to add jalapeno peppers to make it spicier. Makes a lot of chili. I freeze most of it. Such a good soup for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilbunnyhuhu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This recipe was so good! But I did not put the fake meat in it. I fed it to all meat eaters. And they loved it. Someone said they wanted to lick the pan. I only put 2 onions in it and that was enough. It made alot so it would be good for a cook-out or to freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Delicious! I jazzed this bad boy up a bit by adding fresh bell peppers (red and green), fresh garlic, jalepenos, and some cayenne pepper. Spicy goodness. Makes a huge batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittybeard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Very good. Only change I made was to zip it up a bit. I added a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with habaneros. My daughter still didn't think it was hot enough, but I thought it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was really good, my friend and I tried making it and it was really easy. We didn't use any meat substitute at all, but we still didn't miss the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancerbabe2007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made this chili in a slow cooker using Morning Star Brand soy crumbles and made up and added 2 of my dad's special chili gravy and it was truly out of this world amazing and delicious. I served it as part of a "Customize Your Own Bowl of Chili Bar" at the Surprise 70th Birthday Party my boyfriend and I threw for my mother this weekend. It met with rave reviews from our guests. Even with out the addition of my dad's chili gravy, it's a great recipe and the recipe author is correct, "They'll never know it's vegetarian!" My guests had no idea and were really surprised when I told them that in addition to being delicious that it was healthy for them and free of animal protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I made this for my son (newly vegetarian, age 19) and husband (non-veg) and they loved it. I used only one onion because my son is not an onion lover. I followed the recipe pretty closely. Like everyone said, it makes a ton of food, so be prepared for left-overs for awhile. In re-reading this info, on a freezing cold October day in Colorado, by golly, I'm heading to the kitchen to make it AGAIN. Thanks for sharing the recipe, julieliz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
The best chili I have EVER had! I topped it with cashew "cheese", Tofutti's "Better than Sour Cream", and a splash of TACO sauce... I ate until I reached the "omgimgonnaexplode" state. It's even SUPERB as a leftover and stands freezing VERY nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustDMarine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
One word: Yummy! Perfect level of spices (would say it's mild), the veggie burgers give it a real hardiness... and the onions.. OH the onions! They were just fabulous!! Next time: make it a "medium" spice level, top with sour cream, serve with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States