Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This is so good! I'm trying to cut way back on meat and I didn't miss is one bit in this chili. I only used 2 onions and added some chopped bell pepper and half a jalapeno pepper. I only used 2 tbsp. chili powder and added few dashed of ground red pepper. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is a great veggie alternative chili. I used some fresh veggie burger as the meat substitute, it came out great. I used shallots (5) instead of traditional onions and switched out the red kidney beans for whole kernel corn. I made the chili very colorful and attractive. Also, I didnt have tomatoe juice in my pantry so I used condensed tomatoe soup with the water added and just used half. Again turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Loved this! Made a few changes: I added 1 can of white kidney beans, rinsed and drained. I added 1/2 bag of frozen corn. I used 1 can of tomato sauce in place of the tomato juice. I only used 3 onions which was plenty and I used 2 Tbsp of chili powder, which was enough for us and our young child but I did add 1 small can of diced chili peppers. I planned on adding the fake meat but after getting everything in the pot I decided it really didn't need it. I served it with a bit of cheese sprinkled on top and some chips on the side. So so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Great recipe! I didnt told my husband it's vegetarian and he didnt noticed anything :) Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambergerin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Excellent recipe. I only had one large yellow onion. I also didn't have any tomato juice so I added 1 cup of my favorite Salsa and added a little liquid to my pot. It turned out terrific! Highly recommend with or without Boca crumbles. A big 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
One of my favorites. I don't even use the crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I made it pretty much according to the instructions, but I also put in a large jalepeno pepper, sliced, for a little kick, which worked out great. The recipe does as given does make a large amount of food, fyi- seems like WAY more than 6 servings! Anyway, can't recommend it highly enough. A huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Fantastic! I couldn't even tell this was a vegetarian dish! As with all chili (with meat or vegetarian), I topped each bowl with sour cream, cilantro and hot sauce. It was so good. This is the only chili I'm going to make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
At last - a vegetarian chili that is not only wonderful, but you'd never know it is vegetarian! I'm taking it to my church potluck so the amount is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micrathene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Burnsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Thank you SO much for this recipe, it is suprisingly delicious.I made a half batch and it was still alot. I accidentally used tomato sauce instead of tomato juice so it was a bit dry so I added about a cup of veggie broth. Was still outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States