Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
We loved this, Used chili beans, one large onion, dash of sriracha, ancho chili, hot and regular chili powders. Also added whole peeled organic tomatoes, diced tomatoes with green chilies, and sliced stewed tomatoes. The best chili ever. We won't use another chili recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was really good. I dont like onions that much so I just used 1/2 white onion. I also halved the whole recipe and did not use Boca crumbles ( didn't miss them at all). Again, very good. Best vegetarian chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made this last night and... OH BOY!!! I did put my own twist however. Instead of meat substitute, I used two cans of chick peas pulsed in the food processor to look like ground beef. The rest is my little secret! It was so good that you could put a bowl of it on top of your head and slap yourself silly with your tongue trying to eat it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This dish was SUPER delicious. I tweaked it and added shrimp instead of the burger style crumbles, since I'm not particularly vegetarian. I only used three cans of beans and one can of yellow corn. I opted out of the bay leaves and used 1 small white onion and half a large red onion. OMG this was so good. It tasted even better a few days later after the seasoning marinated in the refrigerated. Top it off with some shredded sharp cheddar cheese and sour cream...heaven. LOL :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adanie12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Our new favorite chili recipe. It is really, really good. I was hesitant to add tomato juice, but it works! Modifications made: didn't add 5 onions? seemed a bit much. 1 1/2 big onions plenty. Added a chopped green pepper and 1/2 cup chopped dried apricots for a bit of sweet. 1 can instead of 3 cans of kidney beans. But really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This is so good! I'm trying to cut way back on meat and I didn't miss is one bit in this chili. I only used 2 onions and added some chopped bell pepper and half a jalapeno pepper. I only used 2 tbsp. chili powder and added few dashed of ground red pepper. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is a great veggie alternative chili. I used some fresh veggie burger as the meat substitute, it came out great. I used shallots (5) instead of traditional onions and switched out the red kidney beans for whole kernel corn. I made the chili very colorful and attractive. Also, I didnt have tomatoe juice in my pantry so I used condensed tomatoe soup with the water added and just used half. Again turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Loved this! Made a few changes: I added 1 can of white kidney beans, rinsed and drained. I added 1/2 bag of frozen corn. I used 1 can of tomato sauce in place of the tomato juice. I only used 3 onions which was plenty and I used 2 Tbsp of chili powder, which was enough for us and our young child but I did add 1 small can of diced chili peppers. I planned on adding the fake meat but after getting everything in the pot I decided it really didn't need it. I served it with a bit of cheese sprinkled on top and some chips on the side. So so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Great recipe! I didnt told my husband it's vegetarian and he didnt noticed anything :) Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambergerin

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States