Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! Taste & consistency-wise, it is comparable to tuna or chicken salad - but BETTER! I had a hard time not eating the entire batch right out of the bowl, plain, right after I made it. The first time, I made it true to the recipe, and it was awesome. The second time, I decided to add a few things: one chopped hard-boiled egg, green onion instead of white, and about a tablespoon of pickle relish. For my personal preference, I prefer the one with the changes. I will say, my eight year old tried it, but did not care for this. My husband did not like it either, but this was fine - MORE FOR ME :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is amazing. I toasted some pita bread in the oven, then filled it with this, plus lettuce and feta cheese and it is definitely my new favorite lunch to make! I only used 1/4 of an onion because I felt that 1/2 would have been too overpowering. And I chopped up carrots too. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slm89

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lemanuelthelazy
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is such a quick and delicious meal! I have been desperate for a vegetarian alternative to tuna salad, and let me tell you this hits the spot. I mashed the chickpeas with a potato smasher to make them extra squishy, and I noticed if it sits in the fridge for a day I have to add a little extra salt. This is a perfect emergency party snack for when you don't have much food in the house, because the only thing that you need to keep fresh is the celery. I served it open face on wheat toast with a little cheddar, but honestly it's just as good to shovel it down with a fork. I have to double the recipe because it doesn't last long. Thank you thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This needs a lot more seasoning, I think... But a good base recipe to add different stuff in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
absolutely awesome and easy to make. smooth and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Delicious, easy and healthy. I used fewer onion because I'm not a huge raw onion fan. Also added some olive slices. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
The chickpea flavor was too overwhelming. But I'm not a vegetarian so maybe I was wanting it to still taste like chicken salad. But still glad I tried it, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Delicious!! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afrikamommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I'm not a big fan of Chicpeas but since I'm trying to eat healthier, I thought I'd give it a try and it was really good! I also added some spices and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 727) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States