Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
My husband and I follow Dr. Fuhrman's Eat to Live diet and this recipe was FANTASTIC. My only change was to use Veganaise instead of mayo, otherwise, I did exactly as written. Did not tell my husband what it was and he thought it had a tuna/chicken salad taste. Oh, I used a potato masher instead of a fork and they mashed down to a nice consistency. Definitely will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crabbyjean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was pretty good, but next time I would add some additional seasonings. I think curry powder would give it a nice lift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ghen
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Chick peas or garbanzo beans are a favorite and this sandwich spread is, too!! Mashing the beans with a fork combined with the celery gives the spread texture and crunch. I left out the onions, just personal preference. Used whole grain bread. Yummy!! A keeper to repeat and have as an alternate to other vegetarian lunch options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Awesome exactly as written! Don't need to change anything. Also tasty warmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Just made this exactly as written and ate it as a salad...wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I loved it and I love the texture. The only thing it doesn't specify is the size of the onion. I had half a large red onion and it was too much, and I love onions! I will use less next time. I pulsed the veggies in my food processor, then added the mayo, lemon juice and dill and pulsed a few more times. Then I added the chickpeas and pulsed just enough to give them the mashed consistency. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I love this recipe! I did not have celery so I used about a teaspoon of celery seed (if that much) to get that celery flavor. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly (minus a little bit of onion). I enjoyed this as a sandwich with some tomato. Next time I think I will double the recipe. Just wasn't enough! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Amazing! Thank you for sharing this with us. Hard to keep some for the next day, it's that good. I added about 5 tbsp. of mayo and a little more dill, everything turned out great and delicious. I did boil the chickpeas for a few minutes and it made them easier to digest. Taste like chicken/tuna filling. Miam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
A very good recipe that I've made it several times now. I have to add significantly more mayo than the recipe calls for, though. I mix everything together in the blender so it's just slightly thicker than hummus and then add the veggies. My (picky!) kids really enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Really liked this recipe. Next time I make it, I'll have to make sure to chop the onion a little finer. Otherwise, it was simple and really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States