Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
My family loved this recipe! I made a couple of changes based on other reviews. I doubled the recipe and instead of celery, I added carrots and garlic(3 cloves). I drained the garbanzo beans, added water and cooked them for 10 min. to soften them. I then sautéed the carrots, onion, garlic with coconut oil until soft. I substituted ranch dressing for mayo, the juice from 1 lemon, and a dash of parsley. I filled a warm pita pocket with the mixture, topped with fresh spinach and a small amount of mozzarella cheese. I baked the pita at 350 degrees until the cheese was melted. This recipe was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Not a bad alternative when i don't feel like having hummus. I use greek yogurt in place of mayo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is a delicious healthy sandwich. I used a little more mayo to help hold it together. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is my new go-to lunch recipe!! I added some garlic powder as per some reviewer's suggestions and definitely didn't use 1/2 an onion, maybe 1/2 cup chopped. With these alterations this recipe is to die for! So good on pita bread with cucumber and a yogurt sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Fits my criteria of a great dish: Great tasting, easy to make, and with little clean up. My wife stated that she felt this was a cafe quality sandwich,and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Super easy and very good. I also added one clove of garlic pressed through a garlic press. No celery, so subbed finely diced green pepper. Wasn't sure I would like the dill with chickpeas, but it's very nice. We're having this tonight with sliced tomatoes, greek olives and sliced hard-boiled eggs on flat bread. My chickpeas were easy to mash with a potato masher. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I didn't like the texture as a sandwich filling; could see it in small amounts as a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This was so good and filling. I omitted the onions (personal preference) and added carrots instead. This was easy to make and tasted great the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Love this recipe but I use non-dairy, no egg mayo and add some chopped dill pickle to it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alen's Grams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Just made it and it is so delicious I wanted to eat the entire batch right then!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 686) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States