Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is AMAZING. Was very easy to make and tastes delicious. My new favorite sandwich filling, going to be eating this by the pounds! It does taste better after it's been chilled though, as I ate some directly after making it and then the next day. The chilled one tasted much better. I skipped the Salt and Pepper, and the Dill Weed. Tasted fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lyman, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I really like this. It's my sandwich for field trip days. I put it in a pita with tomato, avocado, lettuce. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I was skeptical of this recipe, but I have to say now I'm hooked! It is fabulous, I love the dill, I've had it for lunch every day this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Awesome. Easy to make. Easy to improvise with different ingredients if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyliblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
As written, this didn't do it for me. Criticisms others have made of dryness and blandness seem valid. Given that I was looking for something to be able to take to work for lunch I did omit the onion. I tasted a forkful from the food processor bowl and knew that I wouldn't eat this. Rather than throw it, I decided to try and salvage it by doctoring. I added more mayo, more celery, 2 hard boiled eggs, and quite a bit of pickle and some pickle juice. It's much more like a tuna salad this way, but without the fishy tuna flavor that I also try to avoid at work. After all the adjustng, I ended up with something I liked and that I'll probably repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Made this several times, now. It's excellent, and I only have one suggestion. Beware of the quality of the garbanzo beans that you use. The lower quality beans do not mash well, and leave lots of skins floating around in your dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Wow! I am not a vegetarian by any means but have been trying to improve my diet - eating habits - so I started searching for easy recipes. This was my first one and I have to say that I am impressed. Delicious and nutritious. My husband practically ate it from the bowl whereas I had it on a bagel thin with lettuce and tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Yummy, filling, AND cheap! I added shredded carrots and relish to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This salad is delicious. I prepared it for my boss who was joining my coworkers and I at a British tea room (in the Midwest) for lunch. He cannot eat gluten and the restaurant couldn't accommodate his dietary needs, so each of us prepared something for him and we carried it in with the proprietor's permission, of course. It was a hit with my boss. I trimmed some Napa cabbage leaves and put some of the mixture in each, folded the sides up around the mixture, put a slice of cucumber and a slice of red bell pepper on top and secured it all with special toothpicks. I was very happy with the results! My husband and I had the leftovers for dinner tonight and he declared it delicious, too. Seems very versatile as far as adding things you like and leaving out those you might not. Very customizable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Fantastic! I was looking for a way to use a can of chickpeas without just dumping them in a salad. This was so delicious on wheat toast with lettuce that this has been voted in our family to be make regular lunchtime appearances. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States