Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I see this recipe a lot on 'The Buzz' so I decided to give it a try. Delicious! I doubled the recipe and didn't change a thing. I just threw all the ingredients into the food processor until it reached the consistency I liked. I can't wait for lunch tomorrow....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was really easy to prepare and good. I didn't have an onion, so I left that out, but added another stalk of celery. I think 1 tsp of dill weed was a bit much. Next time, I will use less of that and maybe try to add something from others suggestions- salsa or sour cream. Will be great for lunches during the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lasich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I used yogurt and raspberry vinaigrette instead of mayo and basil instead of dill weed, pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
You will want to double the batch! I made this recipie several times and it is quick and delicious. I prefer green onion, otherwise the onion has overpowered the other flavors. Great wrapped in lettus, pita, whole grain bread, and with a fork. Thanks for sharing, sandwiches can be a bit tricky for my vegetarian daughters, this makes packing lucnh easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This is delicious! I followed the recipe as written but would also like to try variations using mustard and other fresh veggies to mix up the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I tried this recipe as written first. As others have said, letting it sit in the fridge overnight really helps to blend the flavors. Looking thru the photos, I saw that someone served it as a lettuce wrap, so we tried that. Nice! Second time, I used green onions instead. A half a white onion was way too strong and oniony for us. I also added coarsely chopped water chestnuts to give it a nice crunch and texture without changing the flavor. I cut back on celery a little and increased the dill a bit (personal preferences). We used iceberg lettuce leafs to make wraps again. This time in a side bowl, I also mixed good ranch salad dip with a favorite sweet chili sauce, then drizzled some of it on top of the filling before sealing up the lettuce wrap. Very tasty little appetizers! My picky kids really enjoyed them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Awesome! Only switch I made was instead of the chopped onion I used chopped chives.... I think this is my new favorite! Trouble is I made this for church tomorrow and I want to eat it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Cut out the sodium. I substitute canned beans for bagged beans. I soak overnight then boil for 10 minutes and I reduce the sodium found in canned garbanzo beans. I also experiment with differnet spices, cumin, curry and/or fresh tumeric root grated into salad. Wonderful recipe that you can add or subtract ingredients for your particular taste. I make atleast one batch a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This is very good just as is. But next time I will add garlic and Edam to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
When I stopped eating meat, I really missed chicken salad. :( That was several years ago.... I was THRILLED to find this recipe! It really has the texture and flavor I missed from chicken salad. I doubled the mayo (I used miracle whip) and diced veggies, for my personal preference. I did try it before adding the additional mayo and veggies and enjoyed it quite a bit as written. I didn't change anything else. It's a keeper and a staple in my fridge. I've tried it on toasted bread, pitas and crackers. Very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lainey Dru

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 686) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States