Vegetarian Chickpea Curry with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Fab- U - lous!!! easy and great. with cottage cheese as i made it spicey be upping the red chili flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Like it a lot. I usually double the recipe so that there is not half cans of stuff left over. Very filling for someone who does not usually like meatless dishes. Also it is super easy to use frozen corn and to reduce the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I thought it was an excellent vegetarian recipe that even my family liked who are not so crazy about vegetarian food that much. The turnip was a nice surprise. I did use a whole turnip since I didn't what else to use the other half for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I make a chicken curry with coconut milk all the time but wanted to try something different. I made the vegetarian chickpea tonight and loved it. I swapped zucchini for the bell pepper (just out of personal preference) and added some cayenne pepper for extra kick, but other than that, followed the recipe pretty closely. It was a big hit with the fam. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moiralong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I made this recipe with 3 small turnips that came in my veggie delivery box. I also had to use less spice because I realized at crush time, that I only had 1 tbsp. Of curry left. I served this to my family and an out-of-state guest on his first night here. My kids ate it up, and our guest said he didn't think he would have a better meal for the duration of his stay. Very adaptable recipe, I will keep it and try other veggies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I doubled most of the recipe, leaving the cumin, curry and tomato sauce the same. I'm glad I did, because the spices are quite strong! This has good flavor, texture and color appeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Easy, cheap to make, and so good and versatile! This curry is good wrapped in an empanada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingpoet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was everything I hoped it would be. I doubled the recipe, soaked dry chick peas overnight, drained them, and cooked everything in the slow cooker with 3 cups of water added -- I'd suggest a cooking time of 6 hours if you try it this way. I've got another bag of dry chick peas in the pantry, and I know what I'll be making with it. Might add some potatoes and/or lentils next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
YUM!! I used an entire turnip, and omitted the corn. Instead I used a large bunch of fresh spinach and 2 potatoes. I also put in some diced jalepeno for more spiciness. It was so healthful and yummy. I can't wait to make it again with different veggies. This is such a great recipe, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very simple and delicious. I used a can of petite diced tomatoes in place of sauce. I also doubled the veggies. My first time cooking turnips and this recipe will be made again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lichi66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States