Vegetarian Chickpea Curry with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Karri707
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
My first time with currys as well as turnips. YUMMY!! This is a great recipe. I forgot to buy a bell pepper so I left t out. I prepared it with brown jasmine rice & sauteed green kale with onions ... flavors complimented eachother well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri707

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Like it a lot. I usually double the recipe so that there is not half cans of stuff left over. Very filling for someone who does not usually like meatless dishes. Also it is super easy to use frozen corn and to reduce the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Fab- U - lous!!! easy and great. with cottage cheese as i made it spicey be upping the red chili flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very simple and delicious. I used a can of petite diced tomatoes in place of sauce. I also doubled the veggies. My first time cooking turnips and this recipe will be made again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lichi66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
YUM!! I used an entire turnip, and omitted the corn. Instead I used a large bunch of fresh spinach and 2 potatoes. I also put in some diced jalepeno for more spiciness. It was so healthful and yummy. I can't wait to make it again with different veggies. This is such a great recipe, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was everything I hoped it would be. I doubled the recipe, soaked dry chick peas overnight, drained them, and cooked everything in the slow cooker with 3 cups of water added -- I'd suggest a cooking time of 6 hours if you try it this way. I've got another bag of dry chick peas in the pantry, and I know what I'll be making with it. Might add some potatoes and/or lentils next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I added a green pepper and used all of the red pepper. It was good, but even better as leftovers a few days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Hearty and flavorful! I substituted 2 small turnips (unpeeled) instead of half of one, a 15-oz can of fire roasted crushed tomatoes instead of 1/2 can of tomato sauce, and I added one medium-sized red potato, diced. I ended up simmering for 3 hours, the last 20 minutes I simmered uncovered to help it thicken. It is easy with a quick prep time, and lends itself to using all kinds of vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Easy, cheap to make, and so good and versatile! This curry is good wrapped in an empanada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingpoet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
this was an awesome dish, I used a can of tomato soup instead of tomato sauce and I used a whole turnip. I also added 2 tsp of curry paste. I would make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States