Vegetarian Chickpea Curry with Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I've wanted to try making a curry for awhile now and yesterday seemed a good day to go with it. Snowy and cold, the day called for spicy comfort food. This recipe was exactly what I needed. It was an excellent guide to help whip up a wonderful curry. I did make several changes based on what I had on hand and personal taste. The result was delicious. I think curry is like so many widely loved dishes, such as chili, in that there are a zillion ways to adapt it. Speaking of chili, I only like cumin in chili so I left it out and used coriander. I agree with another review -- add the spices a little at a time so that it is the right amount for you. I used about 1 1/2 TBS of curry powder and about 1 1/2 TBS of coriander. I didn't have a turnip. I did use parsnips, carrots, and a small potato. I also added a touch of agave syrup to bind the flavors as suggested in another review. Don't you just love learning from new recipes AND the reviews? Sadly, did not have a red pepper. Left out the corn, but I think it's also a good idea. Served it on jasmine rice. We loved it. Oh, I used more tomato sauce and kept adding water because I wanted plenty of liquid. Thank you, mia_bella, for helping me make my first curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
A simple and easy dish to make if you have a little time on your hands. The basmati rice was an almost must add for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made some changes, most notably using potatoes instead of turnips and reducing the amount of curry powder used. I have a spicy curry powder, so only used 1 T. I did drain the chickpeas, and rinse, because I don't like the taste of the liquid. I added water to the recipe, but it still burned to the bottom of the pan a bit. I added a half cup of light coconut milk at the end, which I thought really added to the richness of the recipe. I served it over quinoa...the flavor ended up being lovely, but I wish it had been a little more liquidy. If I make it again, I'll adjust it further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Doubled the recipe, but tripled the turnips and garlic. Even added some parsnips. Delicious over brown rice! Next time I'll add more turnips (trying to like them since they're so abundant in the garden!) This recipe would be great with any combination of root vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Very tasty. A had a big turnip so automatically doubled the recipe. My only tip might be, don't go too crazy on the spice. Maybe do half of what's called for, taste, then add more if you like. Very spicy according to what's called for of the recipe itself. Still very good, can see myself making it again(with less curry powder), so for that 5 stars! The small changes I made were mostly to try to bring down the heat some. A drizzle of maple syrup, 1/2 cup milk, cornstarch and 1/3 cup rich to soak up extra liquid. Took about an hour and a half for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Great vegetarian dish. I omitted the cumin (don't really care for it) and used Garam Masala instead. And I used rutabaga instead of turnip and crushed fire-roasted tomatoes instead of tomato sauce because that's what I had on hand. I also added the whole onion and pepper (red Diablo from my garden). I didn't use the red pepper flakes but added a generous dose of cayenne which was perfect. I also added chopped kale for the last half or so of cooking time. I will definitely make again, but I'm thinking about roasting the veggies first to caramelize them a bit (still leaving them firm) and then proceeding. This dish has endless possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
It took all of my self-control not to lick the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasonFromCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Byers, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
LOVED this recipe. I did not have corn available, instead I added a sweet potato, vegetable broth, parsley, and spinach. After I sauteed the onion, I added the sweet potato before the other ingredients. I let them cook a few minutes, then added just a little of white wine vinegar, mixed, then about a tablespoon of water. I put the lid on and let them cook a few minutes more. Then I added the rest of the veggies and beans. When I added the sauce, I added the veggie broth. When the potatoes and turnips were almost done (I simmered at medium low) then I added the spinach and parsley. I served over brown rice. My husband thought it was a little too sweet, but I thought it was just right. He added some extra salt to his- I added extra parsley to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Thank you! Great idea. We loved it even without the corn and served with rice. We will make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Wonderful! Doubled the recipe since we like leftovers. Mostly made as directed, but decreased corn to one cup and added an extra turnip. Lots of flavor, spice and heat! Going into rotation. I think this would be wonderful with the addition of chicken. Thank you for the delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States