Vegetarian Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
A really tasty, slightly dense, hearty cake/bread. I added a few chocolate chips for some weird reason (with carrot cake?) but it turned out delicious! I used a greased 9 x 13 pan and cooked it for about 40 mins and it was perfect for my taste. Thank you very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was a great, healthier recipe! It's more like a thick loaf than a 'cake', which i enjoyed very much. I recommend using larger than a 9" pan, as it rises too high to cook thoroughly without slightly burning. It took a full hour, with a slight burn with the 9".. probably 45 minutes in a rectangular one, or two loaf pans, would work perfectly. I really enjoyed the crispy outside, but of course that turned into more 'moist' after i wrapped it for the night.. so i recommend baking it the day of. It was still quite moist, although i added a few things like the prev recommendations: 2 cups of milk, 1/4 cup oil and a 1/4 cup of applesauce (healthier), an extra 1/2 cup of brown sugar.. it ended up nice and slightly sweet, the orange was subtle, the cinnamon too :) Def make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellinnur
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
perfect.. i've added 1tsp of nutmeg, 11/2 baking powder + 1/12 baking soda n the taste is extremely delicious.. moist and fluffy.. thanks for sharing ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellinnur

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
The cake did come out very well...I just used a few tips which one of the members had put up. Added double the sugar, 1/2 cup of oil and 2 cups of milk. It came out very well...kids loved it and thank god it is healthy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I think the reason this cake comes out too dense is it has too little leavening it needs at least 3 teaspoons baking powder, better yet baking soda, and 2 Tb vineager in lieu of lemon juice, also reduce oil to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
followed directions carefully - did not rise well, I ended up with a pancakey dense product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lotesse
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Very easy to make. I changed it a bit, and works fine with 1/5 of the oil and more sugar. I also added some raisins and oats, and used hazelnuts instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotesse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This is very yummy! Tastes even better with some cream cheese frosting. I didn't use any orange zest in mine, and I used 3 cups of white flour instead of 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat. Defenetly not very sweet so use frosting for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIFAERIE79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I finally found an egg less carrot cake! I thought the recipe was good, not as moist as the cake with eggs. However, I gave it 5 stars, since this is the best egg less recipe I have found. Light on sugar (the way my husband likes it); and with a cream cheese icing it is very good. I did a bunt cake and the amount was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I don't know what the previous reviewer did, but I had no problem with the amount of batter. Just enough for one cake. The cake is fairly dense, but not incredibly so. This isn't really a desert though you could westernize it with icing if you wanted to turn it into one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States