Vegetarian Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
A really tasty, slightly dense, hearty cake/bread. I added a few chocolate chips for some weird reason (with carrot cake?) but it turned out delicious! I used a greased 9 x 13 pan and cooked it for about 40 mins and it was perfect for my taste. Thank you very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was a great, healthier recipe! It's more like a thick loaf than a 'cake', which i enjoyed very much. I recommend using larger than a 9" pan, as it rises too high to cook thoroughly without slightly burning. It took a full hour, with a slight burn with the 9".. probably 45 minutes in a rectangular one, or two loaf pans, would work perfectly. I really enjoyed the crispy outside, but of course that turned into more 'moist' after i wrapped it for the night.. so i recommend baking it the day of. It was still quite moist, although i added a few things like the prev recommendations: 2 cups of milk, 1/4 cup oil and a 1/4 cup of applesauce (healthier), an extra 1/2 cup of brown sugar.. it ended up nice and slightly sweet, the orange was subtle, the cinnamon too :) Def make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellinnur
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
perfect.. i've added 1tsp of nutmeg, 11/2 baking powder + 1/12 baking soda n the taste is extremely delicious.. moist and fluffy.. thanks for sharing ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellinnur

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
The cake did come out very well...I just used a few tips which one of the members had put up. Added double the sugar, 1/2 cup of oil and 2 cups of milk. It came out very well...kids loved it and thank god it is healthy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I think the reason this cake comes out too dense is it has too little leavening it needs at least 3 teaspoons baking powder, better yet baking soda, and 2 Tb vineager in lieu of lemon juice, also reduce oil to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
followed directions carefully - did not rise well, I ended up with a pancakey dense product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lotesse
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Very easy to make. I changed it a bit, and works fine with 1/5 of the oil and more sugar. I also added some raisins and oats, and used hazelnuts instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotesse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This is very yummy! Tastes even better with some cream cheese frosting. I didn't use any orange zest in mine, and I used 3 cups of white flour instead of 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat. Defenetly not very sweet so use frosting for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIFAERIE79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I finally found an egg less carrot cake! I thought the recipe was good, not as moist as the cake with eggs. However, I gave it 5 stars, since this is the best egg less recipe I have found. Light on sugar (the way my husband likes it); and with a cream cheese icing it is very good. I did a bunt cake and the amount was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I don't know what the previous reviewer did, but I had no problem with the amount of batter. Just enough for one cake. The cake is fairly dense, but not incredibly so. This isn't really a desert though you could westernize it with icing if you wanted to turn it into one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States