Vegetarian Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I would do some tinkering with this to get it the way you want it. It is not traditional tasting and taste more like an middle eastern version of chili. Suggetions would be to cut coriander amount by half since it dominates the flavor. If you still want more than put in a little at a time. People have reported texture being more soupy than chili like but that is probably because they didn't notice that the recipe gives you a general amount for water. Use your own discretion: pour a little in at a time until satisfied with consistency. I found this out the hard way after dumping it all in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Three Rivers, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This chili is fantastic! If you like dishes with a lot of flavor this is definitely worth a try. And, it was easy to prepare and cook. Instead of using ground cayenne pepper I substituted Frank's Red Hot Original sauce (I just kind of eye-balled the amount and tasted as I went). It's main ingredient is cayenne peppers so I imagine it made the chili taste very similar to the original recipe, but perhaps a little bit more tangy. I think I'll try adding some tomatoes and possibly play around with some peppers or other vegetables next time. I also made some cornbread to go along side of it which was the perfect addition. Can't wait to taste the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
it was aweseom!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Make no mistake, this is not chili. Stew, yes. Chili, no. I added a 28 ounce can of tomatoes to this to pretend it was chili, and then added some ground beef because if I was eating stew I wanted meat in it. The flavor starts out spicy and you don't think it's too hot but once you swallow you about choke and your eyes start watering. Too much spice, and this from someone that likes spicy stuff. Won't be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Amazing!... if you dice the vegetables quite small and open your mind to the fact that you can have 'vegetarian chili', there is no need to give this recipe negative reviews. And if you can't handle the heat, reduce the amount of cayenne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Made a few changes by excluding coriander and cloves, used a little less cayenne pepper, used tomato sauce instead of tomato paste, added chopped swiss chard at the end for a little green, and sprinkled the chili with cashews before serving. This made a great (and filling) meal with brown rice, chopped tomatoes and avocado, shredded cheese and sour cream for toppings. Good the first day, better the second!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
The flavour of the spices is awesome. I did not have apple sauce, so I put apple jelly and also added a can of diced tomatoes instead of tomato paste. Very good mix. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I found this to be very very good. I did add one cup of White Zinfandel wine I had on hand to this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Maine, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was really very good and different. I would definitely make this again. Goes well with whole wheat rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This really is the best veg. chili I've ever made. Making chili is all about cleaning out the fridge, so in true form I added 1 large head of fennel (anise) and 3 med leeks rinsed, halved, and cut 1/2" strips. Also, did not add tomato paste as I find it has bittered my chili before. Just added 1 big jar of tomato sauce and omitted water. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States