Vegetarian Bibimbap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I thought this was good. It reminded me of my college days. This was served like this for breakfast, with an egg on top, at the Asian places on campus. For lunch they would sub. the egg with cut up chicken or beef. It was pretty quick to make, because I had leftover rice yesterday from the rice cooker. I just heated the rice, green onion, and soy sauce in the microwave to save on pans. I had the green onion, carrots, and zucchini and not the other vegetables and it was fine. I don't remember this having more than like 2 or 3 vegetables. I just made 1 serving and everything fit in one small pot and one tiny frying pan for the egg. It's a little salty, but I have that experience with most recipes that contain soy sauce. I did use low sodium. I would definitely have the chili sauce on hand. I used sirachi. Although, it is hot. So, I just put a few drops here and there. It's all that it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This was delicious and easy. I didn't bother to fry the rice, I just cooked it in my rice maker, and added soy sauce and green onions to my own plate. Reminds me of Loco Mocos in Hawaii, minus the salsbury steak, and with veggies. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Loved it. Go ahead and add more sauce if wanted! (I wanted)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. We added a little Sriracha to the sweet red chili sauce I had bought and it was perfect. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Yum this is so good! It's perfect because the ingredients can be altered a little to what you have on hand and you can still get that great taste. I served this with some kimchi that I needed to use! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma_11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Made this as written except used fresh mushrooms and garlic chili sauce instead of sweet red, and coconut oil instead of sesame (that's what I had). It was very tasty and very spicy since I added lots of chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Made it as written, but without the bean sprouts. My picky husband LOVED it and asked when we could have it again. Super easy and cheap; ingredients you'd usually have on hand. So good, I wanted to eat 10 bowls of it! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEY HEY MAMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is a fantastic take on bibimbap. I also use a spicy chili sesame oil to fry the egg or to fry some meat in and it adds a great kick to the dish. I have also left out the bamboo shoots and mushrooms in the past and the recipe is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I love this recipe. I will definitely make it again. Its good with everything added together too. My two sons will eat this up in a heartbeat, and the youngest is a true meat eater and picky as all get out. I served Texas Toast with it for a more filling meal. This is very easy to make, but I throw everything in one pan sometimes when I'm in a hurry. For more veggies I throw in choppped broccoli with the the rice and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I made this for my adult vegetarian daughter. My vegetarian recipes are rather limited so I was happy to find this recipe. She loved it and ate two big bowls! I used fresh thinly sliced mushrooms and soy bean sprouts. I also used pink madagascar rice which was a delicious addition. I loved this dish also so I'll be making it it the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States