Vegetarian Bibimbap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
LOVE this recipe! I have tried to recreate bibimpop, which is next to impossible in the States. This was FANTASTIC! I began the recipe by frying some tofu in the oil (wok.... 1 inch width slices. Key is to not touch the slices for 7 minutes until you flip!) as my rice was cooking (in the rice cooker). Then, I followed the recipe as written, but threw in some thawed freezer veggies as well (broccoli and spinach) with the shoots, sprouts, and shrooms. I mixed the rice, soy sauce, and onions in a separate bowl, and we each served our own since I will kill people with gochu chung or siracha. I give this 10 stars. I have been searching for a good bibimpop recipe, and this reminded me of Korea as much as the ingredients could allow!!! Loved the addition of the mushrooms. I will make this over and over. THANK YOU! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Yum Yum!! I had to make a few changes for what I had on hand. I didn't have bamboo shoots, but did have water chestnuts, so I used those. Also for the first time in my life I had no mushrooms! So those got left out. I couldn't find my sweet chili sauce so I used garlic chili sauce. This was delicious and got to use up my zucchini I desperately needed to use :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gcgirl18
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was super delicious! Mix up all ingredients and enjoy. The only thing I did differently is to double up on the bean sprouts instead of using bamboo shoots (not a big fan.) This only took several minutes to assemble and turned out to be absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Awesome! This dish is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
My favorite dish! My mom always made it whenever we had leftovers, and it's still one of my favorite dishes of all time! I love it when she added mushrooms and dubu in it too. She would always call me every time she started making them too, just to make sure I wanted some. I still make it myself too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
It was tasty and healthy, but it took too long to cook. Too much work. I'll order it from a restaurant next time. I was done in a hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leon The Lion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Easy, healthy, and delicious! I've always been a big bibimbap fan, and this is a good recipe to use as a base. I didn't cook the rice the way instructed in the recipe, but I've always used plain old cooked rice as the base for bibimbap and it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This was very good. I did modify it though. I started by sauteing a little garlic and fresh ginger with the veggies. I omitted the bean sprouts, bamboo and canned mushrooms and replaced them with extra carrots and some asparagus. I thought it was delicious on it's own, but my husband ate it with a little sriracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Fantastic! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRoth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
The wonderful thing about bibimbap is that you can make it with whatever is in the house. It's as common as a hamburger in South Korea, and everyone makes it differently (I lived in South Korea for a year). We've used peppers, kale and tofu. To me the most important ingredients for a bibimbap is the gochuchang (spicy pepper sauce), sesame oil, egg, and the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States