Vegetarian Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
My husband made this for us tonight. It smells wonderful when you walk in the door. He said that it was very easy to make but a bit time consuming as you have to cook the lentils for quite a while. Well worth the try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I kept the heat around medium and added water periodically to cook the lentils quicker. Otherwise, made this exactly as printed and it was excellent! Will be having this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I made a few modifications: After heating oil in pan, I added 1/3 teaspoon black mustard seeds, 1/2 teaspoon cumin seeds, 5 curry leaves. Saute 30 seconds. Then add onions, and continue recipe. I deleted powdered cumin from the recipe and added 1 teaspoon of all spice instead. I added some water at the end and bumped heat up to medium to fully cook lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
My vegan sister loved this! I did too, but my dad wasn't awestruck by it. he enjoyed it certainly, but not his favorite. as for my other sister and brother, i'm not sure, they were out and about that night and may not have tried it. delicious blend of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine jellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I've made this one a couple of times already and it comes out great. Some sour cream on top makes it extra special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
After reading most of the reviews, I can see that I probably should have mentioned that the lentils used in this recipe are the tiny orange lentils that cook very quickly. I get mine from the organic section of the market. Canned or soaked lentils will work too, so long as the liquid and cooking time is adjusted accordingly. Also, as a side note, I use whole cumin seeds which I toast and grind in a spice mill... but ground cumin works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
To avoid undercooked lentils and to shorten the required hour of simmering, the first step of this recipe should be: Boil 1.5 cups of water. Add 1/2 cup of lentils. Cover and simmer on low heat while you prepare the rest of the recipe. (that probably takes about 15-20 minutes.) Lentils will be softened. Drain lentils and add to the tomato-bean pot and simmer for however long you have available, but at least 15-20 minutes to blend flavors. I did the above plus added another can of beans (whatever you have-I had great northern beans) It came out great. The raisins were an excellent idea. I also accidently added 2 Tbsps of cumin. Still tasted great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This is a wonderful, flavorful recipe. It's definitely going to become a regular dinner option in our home! I only made two slight adjustments. Just because I'm not a huge fan of cayenne pepper, I left that out. I also added half a tbsp of ground ginger, a flavor I love in many curry dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was a great recipe. I was making it for only two so I used one can of mixed beans instead of the kidney and chick peas, and I'm not a big spice fan so I cut out the cayenne, and I halved the cumin and added a little ginger and cinnamon., and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Highly recommended, the flavor is great and it's super healthy. I had never made any time of curry at home before and this was a great way to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Rouge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States