Vegetarian Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
This was just okay to me. It more or less tasted like chilli. The lentils hardly cooked at all, I had to add some chicken broth and simmer the "chilli" over 1/3 hour more to get the lentils at an edible stage. I served it with naan (from this site). I would probably try this recipe again, only not use lentils or at least soak them. It was very healthy almost fat free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I've made this one a couple of times already and it comes out great. Some sour cream on top makes it extra special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Very good, but not good to eat before a big date! Also, made my whole apartment REEK for about 5 days. Still, totally worth it for the protein punch. I used crushed red pepper and chili powder instead of cayanne and added sweet italian peppers and shiitake mushrooms. Very yummy on brown rice or whole grain pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
It didn't turn out as I expected it would, I didn't really care for the taste and the lentils took much much longer than a hour to cook. My husband didn't mind it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLEAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
My vegan sister loved this! I did too, but my dad wasn't awestruck by it. he enjoyed it certainly, but not his favorite. as for my other sister and brother, i'm not sure, they were out and about that night and may not have tried it. delicious blend of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine jellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I made a few modifications: After heating oil in pan, I added 1/3 teaspoon black mustard seeds, 1/2 teaspoon cumin seeds, 5 curry leaves. Saute 30 seconds. Then add onions, and continue recipe. I deleted powdered cumin from the recipe and added 1 teaspoon of all spice instead. I added some water at the end and bumped heat up to medium to fully cook lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
My husband made this for us tonight. It smells wonderful when you walk in the door. He said that it was very easy to make but a bit time consuming as you have to cook the lentils for quite a while. Well worth the try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Nice! Wasn't quite what I was expecting, but it will be fun to experiment with in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-78 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States