Vegetarian Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This was very good. I only changed the recipe by using brown lentils (what I had), and using 1 T. cumin, because I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spearfish, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Very good, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I like the taste. It's not like I've cooked before. I don't think I generally mix tomato with curry. I had to add a bunch of water to get the lentils to cook, though. Maybe I used the wrong kind, I used a small hard orange lentils (not the larger orange ones). I don't know how much water I added, maybe about a cup overall. The flavor is definitely unique. I liked the addition of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was a great recipe. I was making it for only two so I used one can of mixed beans instead of the kidney and chick peas, and I'm not a big spice fan so I cut out the cayenne, and I halved the cumin and added a little ginger and cinnamon., and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This is a wonderful, flavorful recipe. It's definitely going to become a regular dinner option in our home! I only made two slight adjustments. Just because I'm not a huge fan of cayenne pepper, I left that out. I also added half a tbsp of ground ginger, a flavor I love in many curry dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
To avoid undercooked lentils and to shorten the required hour of simmering, the first step of this recipe should be: Boil 1.5 cups of water. Add 1/2 cup of lentils. Cover and simmer on low heat while you prepare the rest of the recipe. (that probably takes about 15-20 minutes.) Lentils will be softened. Drain lentils and add to the tomato-bean pot and simmer for however long you have available, but at least 15-20 minutes to blend flavors. I did the above plus added another can of beans (whatever you have-I had great northern beans) It came out great. The raisins were an excellent idea. I also accidently added 2 Tbsps of cumin. Still tasted great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Tasty recipe with some additions. Added potatoes, green pepper, mushrooms and just prior to serving a can of coconut milk and chopped cilantro. I omitted the raisons. Lentils required longer cooking time. Husband and 5 year old enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This recipe is delicious! I use only one can of tomatoes (14 oz) and I skip the kidney beans. Also, added about 1 cup of water to help the lentils cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
After reading most of the reviews, I can see that I probably should have mentioned that the lentils used in this recipe are the tiny orange lentils that cook very quickly. I get mine from the organic section of the market. Canned or soaked lentils will work too, so long as the liquid and cooking time is adjusted accordingly. Also, as a side note, I use whole cumin seeds which I toast and grind in a spice mill... but ground cumin works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I kept the heat around medium and added water periodically to cook the lentils quicker. Otherwise, made this exactly as printed and it was excellent! Will be having this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States